Be careful with your toddler

in #parenting6 years ago

Being careful is just not enough when you have a toddler to care for. Toddlers are very inquisitive and their inquiditivess always puts them in unwanted situations which if not rescued on time can cost them their life. The age between a month to 5 years is really tough for parents. They have to always be vigilant about what their kid/ kids are doing.

I have a 2 year old son and my parents call me around 10 times a day to ask what their grandson is doing and at the end of the call they remind me that I need to be careful. They did so or may be a little more, when my first son was in the same age bracket because then even I was young and inexperienced.

However, I used to get annoyed when they did that when my first son was small. The constant calls with same bye bye message saying be careful. I once gave them a earful saying I know what I am doing and there are times when I need to leave their grandson alone so that I can finish off the chores and my words good on my dad's nerves. He shouted back at me saying everything can wait, first put him to sleep then you can work. My mom rather maintained her calmness and gave me few examples of how toddlers put themselves in danger when unattended.

She once told me about a 3 year old, who while playing accidentally popped in a mid sized jackfruit seed that fitted into his food pipe. The child couldn't breath in or breath out . The parents panicked and took him to doctor who pushed it down and later removed it through surgery. In another case a toddler was playing with the drawers of the cupboard and while climbing on the drawers the cupboard fell over him and he stayed there till his mom came to his rescue.
Screenshot_2018-03-16-23-49-00-453_com.android.chrome.png
Image source : http://bit.ly/2G088NT

There are many more scary cases,but the once that is in news recently scared the shit out of me. A new mum carried her 2 month old baby boy to the terrace of her 2 floor house to put the clothes on the clothesline to dry. She was holding her baby in one hand and was putting the clothes to dry when. The baby kicked against her and fell down from the 2 floor building down to the ground. He was taken to the hospital immedietely, but doctors couldn't save him after much efforts.

I am super careful when my son is not sleeping. I closely inspected his choice of toys. I am always around when he is climbing or jumping. Like my dad said, household chores can wait.

Sort:  

dangerous for a small child

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45