Co-sleeping, The family Bed & Saving Lives

in #parenting7 years ago

I've been meaning to post about co-sleeping. 

We came to co-sleeping as a family in a very scary way but it turned into something joyous.  
First, I want to say that when our second daughter was born [now 16 years old] for some reason neither me nor her dad could let her sleep somewhere other than right beside us.  NO idea why. We had a 13-year-old daughter already.  We were not inexperienced.  Our guts told us NO. 

It makes great evolutionary/survival sense for a baby to object to being put down.  Before nurseries, doors, and modernity, to be put down was tantamount to dying of cold, predation or being stepped on.  



Babies, when left to cry rapidly begin to show signs of shutting their systems down to conserve resources.  They have no concept of the future.  They don't know "They'll come back when it is light."  They go into shut-down survival mode.  When I read that some years after we started co-sleeping I felt gut wrenching empathy.  It made absolute sense.  

Cot deaths are far more common among societies that practice remote sleeping and almost non-existent in cultures that practice co-sleeping as the norm.  But where those cultures have begun to adopt Western sleeping practices cot death rates have begun to rise.  {Another factor to factor in here is maybe they are also adopting Western vaccination practices.  The correlation between vaccination date and sids occurrence is very worrisome}.
A few of the factors they think reduce cot death in co-sleepers are:

  1. Carbon dioxide exhaled by parents stimulates the baby to breath.
  2. Movement & proximity of the parents stimulates breathing of the baby. 
  3. Parents are in tune with their baby and awake if they are not doing well [*This is our personal one]. 

[I'll lob you a link to Dr Sears, who has researched and reported this stuff well ... but I learned most of what I know about co-sleeping originally from Three in a Bed by Deborah Jackson.  I learned about it after doing it for some time.]

When our 2nd daughter was born she didn't breath until 8 minutes after her cord was cut.  Her cord was twice round her neck and cut to enable her to be born.  She just stared around being disinclined to breath.  Luckily she seemed to be fine.  However, we noticed she didn't seem to have the same reflex under water that would make you desperate to breath.  [Baby's naturally will have an instinct to hold their breath under water when they are very small ... but this went a whole lot further.]  If she was upset as a toddler she would breath hold and you only knew if you turned her around and looked at her face.  She'd go blue and collapse.  We needed to guess from the situation if she was likely to be upset before she collapsed.  Then I began to wake with her at night 'imagining' she'd stopped breathing, but it eventually became quite apparent that she DID routinely stop breathing and needed to be stimulated to get her to breath again.  I got very used to waking on hearing a deep exhale, monitoring her in my sleep.  
I went to my doctor after one occasion [May 1st when she was 18 months old] when I was absolutely sure [no longer could I put it down to my nerves ... and I'm not a nervous type of mother] that she had stopped breathing.  On this occasion it was light enough outside to wait and check her before shaking her.  She was clearly waxen and had no muscle tone.
I was afraid to go to my doctor.  The previous time we'd gone when she was 8 months old she had campylobacter poisoning and they had done a bunch of painful procedures for which I'd had to hold her down.  They'd then told me that it was ok none of them worked out as they were 'only box ticking'.  My daughter was petrified of doctors since.  I cracked at 2pm thinking "I can't let her sleep another night without something to keep her safe".  
I suggested to my doctor that perhaps I'd rolled on her and co-sleeping was the reason.  He said "NO! Very clearly she is alive precisely because you co-slept with her and you should be sure to continue doing so."

We subsequently went through years of her wearing a monitor that set off an alarm when she stopped breathing for more than 45 seconds.  She finally took it off at the age of 5 when we'd seen no problems for quite some time [after homeopathic treatment.  It is one of the reasons I became a homeopath].  At one point we had to get a monitor for her new baby sister from The Red Cross as we were refused one because our other daughter was a 'Missed-SIDS" case [ie, she didn't die] and she's have had to die for us to be entitled to a monitor for our newborn.  So, we had two monitors and a big family bed.

[There's a ton more to that whole story, including an unpleasant run in with an infamous paediatrician who had a hair trigger for suspecting Munchausen syndrome by proxy (MSBP) ... but luckily he was under investigation at this point and we had an EEG result that showed she had unusual brain activity that could be causing the problem.]

Bed-sharing became joyous.  We had another baby and we had a bed made for us to fit a kingsized plus single mattress [we use memory foam mattresses as they fit together seamlessly].  We still have our family bed.  DD16 of course moved out some time back.  One of her sisters is definitely just about on the way out.  We still have one in with us full time.  They all have their own rooms if they want them and for when they have sleepovers, etc.  
It is cosy.  
I have always considered it a best part of my parenting because there is so much proximity and cuddling whilst sleeping, I'm optimising my time by parenting in my sleep! 

[* ps.  There are other rooms in the house for marital shenanigans & we have a hat on the door just like the Fockers!]



Sort:  

Love your post. I co-sleep with my baby and did with my son too. My husband didn't like it and still has a fit sometimes about it. But my gut tells me is the right thing. It just feels right. I continusly check on my baby at night to make sure she's breathing. I also still check on my son who's 8yrs. If it were up to me i would still have my son sleep with us but my husband won't. I let my son fall asleep with us and i then take him to his bed. Almost every night he climbs back into our bed cause hes scare. Co-sleeping with my children gives me a sense of security.

@sharim09 you are not alone. 85% of children [under a certain age ... sorry I can't remember which age it was when I read this some time back] will sleep with their parents part of the night.
I do wonder what it is that dads object to. Luckily my dh is far from objecting even though I'm sure it has caused him a little inconvenience at some point. I think he likes the intimacy with the kids.
I can't imagine missing those lovely moments when your kid stirs from sleep [age 2] and whispers to you "I used to eat bees." ;-)

So many moments like that at bedtime or when waking that I'd have missed.

My arms LOVE to wrap around something small and warm at night :-) My husband is about 6'3" and not wrappable. :-)

What a scary experience you went through. Thank you for sharing. I co-slept with all my babies quite proudly despite the haters. Still love when the youngest crawls in (almost every night) and I welcome the older boys coming for 'sleepovers' with mom too....its happening less and less and I already miss it.

I'm glad that you are talking about this.
I wish that more mothers would follow their instincts on this one.
I can't imagine not having slept with my babies.

Thanks for the affirmation. It took me a while to start listening. I was a very 'good' traditional [book reading] parent the first time around in the 1980s. I didn't 'make a rod for my back' & didn't think to question vaccination or allopathic medicine.
In fact, I didn't dare to listen to my instincts because I wanted to be a very different parent to my parent. I wanted to break a cycle of what I considered neglect and I wanted to break the cycle of spanking and I felt I couldn't rely on my instincts in case I'd absorbed parenting that would be damaging to my child, 'knee-jerk' learned parenting.

In part I think I started to learn to listen to my instincts because of where I was living. We need to be open and loud about what we do. We need to 'be the change', because even when people disagree with us initially we move the goal posts by exposing them to new ideas. I was living in Hadley Massachusetts ["The Happy Valley"] and working as a Montessori teacher [I found myself training as a Montessori teacher almost by accident initially as my husband got my position whilst I was still in the UK waiting to follow him to the US] and I had friends and colleagues who co-slept and had home births, used homeopathy & home schooled and didn't vaccinate their children.

It seemed as if the universe shuffled all that into place, as I couldn't imagine what a disaster it would have been to parent my dd16 without a 'taking children seriously' libertarian perspective. If she had survived without co-sleeping I'm fairly sure we'd have damaged her irrevocably with traditional parenting & we'd have had a HELL of a time in the process.

As it is, she has turned out to be a very stable, reasonable and deeply intellectual person. Her first word was "Self!" practically and she would have been diagnosed with ODD or PDA [Pathological Demand Avoidance] for sure.
Instinctively she needs to feel absolutely free and at liberty. Today her reading matter is Yeonmi Park's "In Order To Live: A North Korean Girl's Journey to Freedom."
She is a success story for instinct led parenting mixed with a big dose of 'taking children seriously'. [http://www.takingchildrenseriously.com/].
I can hear her now voluntarily emptying the dishwasher [we don't have chores in our house] and telling her 10-year-old sister Yuki about the human right's issues in North Korea and the history of the boundary lines of the area.

What a journey you have taken.
I'm glad that things somehow fell into place with your parenting.
And your girls sound amazing.
All the best!

Thanks :-) I've been loving them for the last 29 years.
Thanks for your well wishes @canadian-coconut :-)

I think that turned into a post @canadian-coconut :-) Apologies!

The entire time I was reading about your daughter, I kept wincing. It must've been terrifying. One of the reasons I panic when I see pre-schoolers cry is because some of them have this scary breath-holding thing (but not as long as your daughter's). I'm so relieved that they're doing well. And so sad about the Red Cross incident. What an awful condition to set to people so they could get a monitor. So, so relieved you've all made it through. Best wishes to you and your family :)

Bless you and thanks for the best wishes. We've been very lucky and we've also learned to be very cautious. Mostly my kids have not needed to see doctors beyond this. We gave up on them and used our homeopath and then I trained as a homeopath to ensure that my kids had a homeopath at all hours. <3
I have a 10-year-old who has seen a nurse at the minor injuries unit twice in her life, never been to a doctor, never had a conventional medicine of any sort and had her first illness [with a fever] about 2 months ago. She got a cold! She was so unaccustomed to being sick that she complained as if she was dying and the 'man-flu' response is now known fondly as "Doing a Yuki" in our house. She got over her cold overnight with a very high fever. THAT is how our immune systems should operate :-) She is my youngest and was born after I'd had a lot of homeopathic constitutional treatment and she has never had any drugs. She doesn't even need to see my homeopath.
Wouldn't it be wonderful if for all of us our health was that undisturbed?
I have found doctors to be paternalistic in the UK. They are inclined to threaten you if you don't do what they think you should do on behalf of your child. It is quite common place for them to suggest they will contact social services if you choose to refuse their treatment plan. They surely are not all this way ... but my more recent experience with them is so limited I can't tell you if it has changed!
I'm guessing it didn't get better.

Your daughter is so adorable lol. I dream of having a good health but I'm, unfortunately, saddled with an autoimmune disorder for life. I've had doctors who don't seem to care but they're mostly residents so they see me as an opportunity to study a rare case than as a person. But the consultants are, thankfully, different (save for a reliever neuro when my main was in another country for a convention). It's terrible when the people you expect to care don't actually care. Luckily, you're very dedicated to your children. All the best :)

So sorry to hear you have an autoimmune disease. :-( I've seen some autoimmune diseases [Hashimotos and PANDAS in particular] sorted with homeopathy. The medical profession calls things 'incurable' when they can't be cured with their methods.
Don't lose hope <3

Most of parents in my country co-sleep with babies. It is because the land is small in Japan, the house is also small and it is impossible to have a room for a baby.
I was envious of a country with a culture where a baby and a parent sleep separately. But I read your post and thought that I should have confidence in my country's culture.

@yokohama-panda ❤️. I had your country in mind in particular when talking about how low sids is in countries that don't practice remote sleeping & how it is rising as they adopt the practice. The stats I read when I was doing my research years back were from Japan.
There is such a lot of joy in co-sleeping. I'm really glad you saw my post. You should definitely have confidence in your country's culture. 🌟🌟🌟

Haha I think your *ps part was a question on many non-cosleeping parents' minds.
We co-sleep as well with our 2 kids.

And when they are little they take up little space and they sleep heavily :-)

ALL the space lol

Yeah! It's not like we didn't find ways to sneak around when we were all teenagers right! lol.

Hahaha seems this aspect is one issue why others don't consider co-sleeping.

Yes, and it really isn't much of a problem. We've been co-sleeping for nearly 17 ears now and have a healthy relationship 😄

Co-sleeper over here! I was actually very against co-sleeping before having a baby (ha!), but I slowly started to realize that she was really only going to sleep if she was in bed with me.

Once I switched from being a reactionary co-sleeper (simply letting her sleep in bed when we tried everything and she just wouldn't sleep) to a more intentional one (planning for it before bedtime and making it as safe as possible) things became so much easier.

We just invested in the Dockatot. It's a pricey piece of baby equipment, but her first night in it she slept for NINE hours. It's a co-sleeper that I put right on the bed. I feel so much better about our sleeping arrangements now (minus the fact that my partner has to sleep in the guest room because there's no room for him in the bed... at least he gets a solid sleep... ha ha!).

image
Definitely time to have a massive bed built!

We are for sure in need of one!

we had ours custom made by a company called Anderson Bradshaw but I think they are out of business. It cost £1000 to have it made, which is a lot of money but in terms of the price of beds is NOT really that expensive. You can also make a bed base and put a kingsize and a single together. We did this for years before we got this one. We use memory foam mattresses as they don't have any cording at the edges of the mattresses and no real gap forms. However, the first ones we bought STANK of chemicals and had to be left in a spare, ventilated space for about 3 months before I could go anywhere near them. I have chemical sensitivities so I don't suppose that helped. Have bought a new single since [the kingsize is still going 10 years in] and that one didn't smell at all :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76