📚 Baby/Children’s Book of the Week: # 4 ~ The Very Hungry Caterpillar 📚

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

It's already Week 4 of our journey! Time sure flies when you’re reading some great books!

This week I’m sharing one of my favorites from when I was a child. I have very fond memories of my mum reading this story to me and it warms my heart that I’m sharing it with my kids now.


Reading aloud to your child is a wonderful shared activity to promote language development and early literacy skills in a fun and stimulating way, and as Dr. Seuss would say:

“I can read in red. I can read in blue. I can read in pickle color too.”
~ Dr. Seuss

Maybe even “caterpillar green”?


caterpillar.jpg

Title: The Very Hungry Caterpillar
Author: Eric Carle
Illustrator: Eric Carle
Ages: Preschool and up

Click here for:


Often described as "one of the greatest childhood classics of all time”, The Very Hungry Caterpillar is a story about, as you might expect, a little green caterpillar and his journey to becoming a butterfly. Starting out as a very tiny and hungry caterpillar he “eats” his way through the book trying a variety of foods and leaving holes in the pages as he goes…

On Monday he ate through one apple
But he was still hungry.

Book.jpg

For such a short story, Eric works some educational wizardry and includes counting, the days of the week and different foods. As parent this book is a wonderful learning tool that doesn’t detract from the story.

The illustrations are made using a “collage” method, by cutting and pasting tissue paper onto a line drawing. Something which would be fun to do at home using the coloring page above.

How many items does he eat on Saturday?

Do caterpillars really eat chocolate cake?

What happens when he goes to sleep?

You’ll just have to read the book to find out!

Be sure to check-out the above activities courtesy of Eric-Carle and Pinterest for fun ideas including rhyming and matching activities, letter tracing, crafts, coloring pages and so much more.

Purchase from Amazon or borrow from your local library.

I hope you enjoy our choices as much as we do and if there are any that you’d like to see featured, please let me know.

Cate .png


Link to last week’s book: The Mitten

red wellies gif.gif

Original content by @redwellies


DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png


Sort:  

Its not a favorite from my Childhood, but one I read to my girls and remember t so well still today
Tip!

@tattoodjay I'm glad that you were able to enjoy his book with your girls and I'm sure that when they're older and have kids of there own, they'll reach for it and have fond memories of you :). Thank you also for the extra vote :)

IT is a book that should go through generations

And most welcome :)

that´s really a wonderful book, I also connect it with memories of my mum..
it´s definitely a book my 'maybe children' will have to listen to when I´m reading:)

I love that you also connect it with your mum! It's definitely a keeper along with his other books which aren't so well known :)

A classic!

It sure is!! No wonder it's been translated into over 50 different languages :)

Every baby have a right to possess a book. And dont you think he do have a right to listen to his parents read stories for him too.
Respect

@dawitnet I do agree! Reading to your child is such an important part of being a parent :)

Do caterpillars really eat chocolate cate?

Do you come in chocolate flavor, too??!!

@enchantedspirit LOL!! I hope not, I'm going to have nightmares about that!! Fixed TY :)

Hi @redwellies! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @tattoodjay :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82