Parenting Regrets

in #parenting7 years ago

Do you have any regrets when it comes to your kids? The kind that keep you awake at night and race around your brain?

I have two.

The first one is from a year and a half ago. I was trying to get E to walk with me but ended up dragging her instead. It was a tired and angry moment and I am not proud of it.

The second is from just a few months ago. I was dropping E off at her grandparents before school, and while I was talking to my mother-in-law in the kitchen I heard E yell "Grandpa, stop!" I don't know what he was doing, but it was clear he didn't stop. Why didn't I have the presence of mind to stop my conversation and stand up for my child? I don't know and I am not proud of it.

I hope someday I can apologize for these moments. I know there will be more moments that need an apology too.

image

Sort:  

You are an amazing parent, and so brave to share your regrets. Much love to you.

You're a good parent, and all good parents have regrets. It's the fact that we have those regrets and that hindsight that means we're not terrible people or caretakers of our offspring.

Thank you for the valdiation, Sumayyah :). I think sometimes it helps to just get them out there.

One of the best things parents can do is to recognize that they aren't perfect. Bad parents fail to put in the effort to learn from their mistakes. You're doing great.

Thank you so much :)

Thank you for sharing your mistakes and being vulnerable. It's what makes us human and sharing what makes you human makes us feel less alone.

My pleasure, thnk you so much for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78