You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Losing & Finding Yourself In Motherhood

in #parenting6 years ago

Oh wow this made me cry. I had the exact same experience of ending up in the hospital for several days, "broken" from an exhausting birth and fretting over a baby who wouldn't feed.

I have never felt so low in all my life. I had spent 9 months so excited about meeting my little boy that when it finally came I was hit with things I felt totally unprepared for.

I felt like I was losing myself....I became very withdrawn from friends. This was my problem and I didn't want to bother them with it.

I did all that too, and instead of seeking a tribe I struggled alone with PPD off and on for over two years. It's really good you've found a mama tribe and I'm glad you wrote about it so honestly for other moms to learn from!

Sort:  

So pleased it touched you @mtnmeadowmomma. It's crazy looking back on how easy it would have been for me to ask for help, but at the time it seemed like i was drowning. So many mums go through this and there's really not enough post partum support out there. I was so lucky with my family and husband, but even then there's still that feeling of being totally alone and desperate. So sorry you struggled with PPD for so long, that sounds tough. Really lovely to connect with a beautiful mama. much love xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88