You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The dangers of allowing tears be a negotiation technique during parenting

in #parenting8 years ago

I understand what you are saying and agree completely.. sometimes it's hard for me to not seem so intimidating to my son, whenever I'm trying to help him solve a problem or overcome an obstacle.. I've yet to find a solution to this problem. I don't give him any particular look and I'm not judging him but for some reason maybe it's an expectation I have or just a certain look I unknowingly give.. makes my son nervous and afraid to think any further. It's very hard to get past this point.. I usually have to step away and come back to see if he's progressed any further in solving the problem... usually the distance let's him calm down and think a little clearer

Sort:  

It is difficult with my daughter and math because she is always negotiating to get answers. However, over time it dies down and she begins becoming more of an independent thinker. We aren't perfect, we're parents. But the amount of effort we put in over what we otherwise wouldn't will make all of the difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59370.83
ETH 2591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46