You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: English Only Please. The Struggle is Real! (My Story)

in #parenting7 years ago

I grew up in a Korean and American household. At a very young age my father was stationed in Seoul, Korea and I was fully immersed in the Korean culture because my aunts, uncle, and grandparents were always around. Even my two great-grandmothers! I remember speaking Korean fluently. And then we moved back to the U.S. I was 5 and I didn't fit in. Half & Half. Glasses. Shy. Stutter. Broken English. I was teased every day for something. So, at the age of 5 I rejected all things Korean (except my mother). I did not want to speak it. I even tried to reject Korean food. Looking back, I was a fool. But in my young mind, it was the only thing I had control over.

And now that I'm older, I wish I had that second language and I intend to learn it again. I want to have good conversations with my mother in her native tongue. That would be so fun. :)

Sort:  

Aneong @merej99! 😀

Hmmm, Sad you had to go through that... yeah, if it were me I think I would have done the same.

I was thinking, after 5 years and a child "loses a languange" , would it be difficult to re-learn it? I am pretty sure though that you can still understand korean?

On a side note, once upon a time a got addicted on Korean tv series. They are very famous in PH because of their great story lines, and the movies are fantastic too. They are also being shown on local tv dubbed with Filipino. 😅
I don't watch anymore because I may get addicted again. Cant afford that. Too much going on here and there, so I need that extra time. Lol

Oh my gosh, I love Korean soaps. LOL I don't even have to pay attention to the English subtitles and I laugh or cry! Oh, COFFEE PRINCE. LOL It's one of my favorites. My husband looks at me like I'm crazy. I can pick up on some words and phrases, sometimes follow along with a conversation and kind of understand.

I think when I concentrate and find people who will speak with me, I can learn it pretty quickly. I hope so!

Oh, envy you don't need the subs. Indefinitely do and there's where I lose the time. Imaging focusing your eyes on the screen all the time just to catch the conversations. 😅

And yeah, coffee prince! 😆

I think these days they are showing The Goblin in PH. I have heard great comments but I dont want to put my head into it yet. I cant afford to get addicted to something more this days. steemit already has me. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60961.08
ETH 2363.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52