Elves on the Shelf...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #parenting5 years ago (edited)

1A06DADB-22F3-4C82-AB05-6C4270D4C815.jpeg

“Mummy, you cannot touch the Elves or they will lose their magic!”
~ Jade Plant @8 y.o.

I was lectured for suggesting the Elves will have to be kicked out if they caused too much mischief around the house...

Is it just us who have been forced to host these cheeky freeloaders? I can’t even remember what the lore is around them. My daughters had so many rules that was shared to them by friends. Every time they tell me yet another thing we must or must not do in reference to these Elves, I’d ask my husband, “Huh? What? Why?”

He’d shrug and pretty much say, “I dunno.“

But the general gist I got was that they were Santa’s spies, that they could tear apart my house but I was not allowed to give them the boot! They just did whatever they wanted to do when we weren’t looking!

They were also expensive for their size, and well....usefulness! I suppose we’re paying for ‘magic’. That’s not cheap...

So last night ‘I noticed’ they had driven out of our house in the Barbie car, and were on the front porch. I thought, “Good riddance!”

I gleefully reported this to my husband.

He got very concerned and said it was probably not allowed! That it went against the spirit of the Elves because they hung around the home to spy on us. So he couldn’t go back to sleep until ‘he noticed’ the elves had driven back into the house.

-sigh-

This morning the girls were excited to report the Elves had been driving around the house, but again warned me that I was not to harass them! 🙄

The photo was taken after I got out of the shower. The cheeky things have climbed up the light fitting in the hall. I suspect they will be found everywhere around house except on the shelf...

Anyway, there’s always yet another kid’s craze we have to indulge. I held firm on those fidget spinners for a long time, until Santa was so rude as to cave and give them one. Grrrrr....

These Elves are kinda fun at least.
😉

Sort:  

🤣😍 Thanks for dropping that pic, Matt. I will show my daughters, no doubt it’ll be discussed with great awe. lol. Have fun at the party and look forward to a post on it!

They’d lose a bit more than magic around us 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s great to know! If only my daughters would be more chilled, but they take this don’t-touch business very seriously. 🙄

Elves can be photographed in all kinds of compromising positions and blackmailed

There’s a thought....but my girls are keeping me on the straight and narrow. Blackmail isn’t on the cards...lol

You have an invasion of elves, the only way to fix the problem is shrink yourself down and communicate on their level with them. Ask them to be alittle more out of site and they likely listen.

Shrink myself and give up my advantage over them?! No way. I need to be able to stomp on them should they become evil! ;)

Zany elves! They could journey to collect all the unused fidget spinners!

They are zany and high maintenance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.20
ETH 2988.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68