parenting. if it's easy, you're not doing it right.

in #parenting8 years ago

I've been doing a lot of deep digging lately. I'm finding all kinds of unsavory aspects of myself...things that have kept me quite comfortable and justifiably right about a lot of things...but wrong. As I elaborate, I hope some others can relate, because I recently found an wonderful gem of Truth that has helped me to confront my selfishness, and I think get 1 step closer to Truth.

Often, my 4-year-old has a list of demands. He needs help with this, needs me to watch him do something, needs a banana that has been cut in even 3rds, and a smoothie that is the correct shade of pink. I find myself saying 'no' way too often. I'm realizing how my selfishness, my need to just have a quiet moment to myself and contemplate something deep, is not on my sons' list of priorities.

Then I heard something fantastic. My job, as a parent, is to give! It's challenging being needed all day long, it's draining having to help manage someone else's quirks, emotions and desires. The answer is, 'yes' it's difficult, but that's what I've signed up for. I cannot wait for favors to be returned before I extend a hand of compassion and understanding. When I became a parent, my role because nurturer, my job became giver.

So, if you are constantly being challenged by your young ones...perhaps this challenge was given to you for the opportunity to tune into someone else's needs, to become like the Light, and to fully embrace, fully give without expectation of return.

We will not know what unconditional love is until we are willing to give before receiving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41