School gives your child information not education!!!

in #parenting6 years ago

Schooling a child is not the same thing as educating a child. I have gone through 6 years in basic school, 6 years in high school and 5 years in college and I have come to the conclusion that school provides information not necessarily education. Using myself as an example, during my college days, we were thought how to solve very complex mathematical equations and till today, am still trying to find out the use of those equations in real life.

kids-1093758__480.jpg
Image Source

Some children also leave high school at 16 or 18 and probably all they could learn is how to solve long divisions which the child may never use again. Don't get me wrong,am not in anyway discrediting the need for a child to be enrolled in a school. School is good, it teaches the child that learning is a process, how to learn and it's a skill that would be useful the rest of the child's life.

My point is that, it's the duty of the parent to teach their kids all those life skills that school can't teach the child during those years that the child is growing up. Life skills like how to live within their means, how to treat people with respect, how to win and how to accept defeat, how to be assertive, how to resolve arguments, how to share, how to think for themselves, how to face their fears, how to take up responsibilities.

boys-286245_1280.jpg
Image Source

You should not rely on school to give your child anything useful apart from information and those odd practical skills such as how to turn a blue litmus paper red using Acid.

The school has it's role to play, which is schooling the child by providing information, it's your Job to educated your child. Don't expect the school to do it for you especially if you want to raise children that are decent,capable and matured, children that will represent you anywhere and you will be proud of.

Thanks for visiting my blog!

IMG-20180208-WA0000.jpg

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

But school life is the most important part of student

I don't think you read the post. Read it again.

Not always.
Every school is different, every person is different, and some schools are flatly violent and unsafe.

howdy there from Texas @kweenbrand! yes Ma'am I couldn't agree more that schools don't teach kids squat as far as real world, real life skills which you so elegantly wrote about. I assume that in Nigeria the schools must fail in teaching practical skills just like in the United States.

Very good post, very accurate and true. Your English is excellent, where did you go to college?

Thanks a lot for your kind words and for coming around!

I did college at University of Uyo. Akwa Ibom state. Here in Nigeria.

howdy again @kweenbrand! I know nothing about Nigeria but are there alot of colleges there? And do most kids in Nigeria go to college?
You look very elegant and sophisticated!

Hahaha. Thanks for the compliment.😂😂. We have 36 states here and each state has at least 3 tertiary institutions(colleges) and yes, most kids do.
You just earned a follower 😂 and that's me.

oh thank you so much Ma'am and I'm thrilled to know someone from Nigeria and I wasn't trying to get you to follow me by flattering you! lol. honest.
In fact I figured that some of the silly redneck posts that I do, like yesterday's, might not be your interest or cup of tea. But I do alot of history on the American Cowboy and Indian and Old West so if you like history then you might enjoy those.

I will go to your blog and follow you also and try to understand your posts, I assume they're more sophisticated than mine(I hope!)

So Nigeria has tons of colleges, that's wonderful to know, I didn't know if it was mostly a bunch of jungles without modern roads or something! lol. sorry for my ignorance. I hope you post about life there because so many would be interested in learning about that!
thanks so much for getting back with me.

Hahaha. For me to post about life here, I would have to take pictures and the device am using now is very bad. Am only praying for a miracle so that I can change my phone. May be when I do, I can post about life here.

As for what you blog about, it's okay as long as blogging about it comes easy to you and you love it. I hope I can check them out as often as I can, even if I don't get the chance to comment, I can give you and upvote.

Stay safe. Nice meeting you.

howdy again @kweenbrand! well, blogging doesn't come easy for me, this is my first attempt here on steemit and talking to people is easy but blogging is hard to think of something and then how to put it together etc.
What type of miracle do you need? are you a Christian?
thank you, you are very gracious!

Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kweenbrand from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

lovely post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36