You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What have I learned in the first two years of being a parent?

in #parenting7 years ago

Thank your for this beautiful post.

There is so much good information for current as well as future parents. As an expecting father with my daughter due to join us in December, I often find myself in down moments thinking about what type of parent I want to be. What type of lessons do I want to teach my daughter? How will I respond when, if she's anything like, she does the exact opposite of what is expected of her? When she makes mistakes will I respond with an authoritarian attitude or will I sit down and talk ourselves through the mistake and how to fix it in the future?

I especially liked where you talked about children having a sort of telepathy and can feel what your feeling. This was an interesting concept I've never thought about before. It does seem to be true though, kids have an innate ability to seem to know what's really going on. I don't think we give children enough credit for how smart they really are, how much they really understand, and how much we can learn from them.

I also liked how you said you look at your daughter like an equal. This is the first time I've heard anyone say that but that's exactly what they are. You seem like a wonderful, loving father and I hope to be as introspective with how I am raising my daughter.

Thank you again for this wonderful post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59