The ever elusive indoor voice

in #parenting7 years ago

Greetings all, Shawna here.

I always see other families with relatively well behaved kids. Seen but not “heard” if you know what I mean. My kids by no means are bad, they are actually great kids... and no I'm not biased... they are just loud. Really loud. They type of loud that as a family we are heard before we are ever seen. The kind of loud that if we had to survive a zombie apocalypse, we'd be screwed. My chromosome crew has amazing voice projection and unless the end of the world is really loud- hiding, listening, and whispering just wouldn't happen.

Genetically they aren’t hardwired to be soft spoken or quiet. For one, my husband has the most robust voice on the planet and I am pretty confident that he would be best suited as a radio talk show host. He just has one of "those voices". So our kids never really had a chance. That doesn’t mean I don’t try to teach them volume control. Its essential for survival. For me, I mean. In order for my kids to survive with their introverted mother they must learn to control the volume.

For the love of all things good in this world, children, just whisper, do your best impression of a whisper and I am pretty sure that would be societies equivalent to “indoor voice volume”.

I love them, I do. They are my heart and world. But I enjoy hearing too.. I’d like to maintain it. And at worst, should the end of the world ever present itself during our lifetime, I'd like us to be able to survive that too!

askeuozqhyu-jason-rosewell.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59171.28
ETH 2598.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42