My Son's 1st Love Letter 💌 And What It Reminded Me About

in #parenting6 years ago

This actually took me quite by surprise as my son is extremely resistant to writing. To say he hates it, is an understatement. A few short months ago to get him to write anything involved a tremendous amount of encouragement, which involved bribery with chocolate 😊, and lots of tears from his side.

Anyway, that aside, I was so very proud of him for achieving this and he looked so incredibly proud of himself too. This however was very quickly replaced by my usual, instinctive reaction of “worst-case scenario.” All these thoughts just started rushing through my mind, “what if she doesn’t like it”, “what if one of his friends see it first and tease him”, and what if “this ends up being one those awful childhood memories that he’ll never forget.”

I can’t help it, I’ve always been that way and since I became a mother this instinct of mine has been supercharged. I’m fiercely protective of my children and my son has such a sensitive soul. I don’t want anything bad to happen to them ever, period and full stop. Yes, yes I know that things happen, but that doesn’t mean I need to be happy about it either haha.

Over the years I have learnt to keep these types of thoughts to myself though, as projecting them on him isn’t the right approach and, unfortunately, they need to learn these things for themselves. All I can do is be here for him if anything does happen. So off he went to school and gave her the letter and I tried very hard to sound normal when I asked him how it went. His reply “good”, to which I thought “okay I have been stressing about this way more than you and thank goodness.”

You see he has no reason to fear giving her a love letter because nothing has gone wrong before, and if I had said all the things that I was thinking to him, he would have developed a fear that I would have put into his mind. That is exactly why I try to always be very careful about what I say to my children. You can’t live their lives for them, but you can assist them by being there for them when they need you, offering advice when they ask you for it and in my case keeping my worst-case scenario thoughts to myself.

Thank you for reading and remember to keep smiling 😊

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Appreciator Footer.png
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Awww. Am so honoured to have a mother as my friend on steemit. I dint know you were a mother o.
You have a lovely son and I accept your advice to be there for our children when they need our help and offering advice when they ask us for it.

Thank you for your sweet comment @kweenbrand. It can be difficult to keep our mouths shut sometimes.

You acted very thoughtful and sensible. Thumbs up.
Can you adopt me, please?

Thank you for reading and for the compliment. 😀

He's such a sweet little boy. Loved the little love letter vibe and the fact that he'll always be on the lookout for a flower for mommy :)

Yes he is and hopefully he will never stop picking flowers for me 🌷

Aww, how sweet is that letter?! I am the same way with my boys, especially the 7 year old. He's very sensitive and I make sure I'm not putting my own thoughts into his head.

Ah thank you so much @keciah. Yes we must be careful what we say to them, they are still so sensitive and innocent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.67
ETH 3798.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49