When your child is sick...

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

terrible-toddler-800x400.jpg

My son started coughing with a high fever yesterday. It was sudden that is why we wondered how and where he got it. I already informed my boss that I will take an absent today and as always, he replied:

No problem. Okay.

When it comes to family matters, my boss is one of a kind, ready to lend a hand, sending prayers for us and giving us time to our family’s need. That's why it is hard for me to look for a different company even with my low salary.

I also texted my son’s aunt who takes care of him if me and my husband go to work so she won't be waiting for him this morning. She replied that most of the children she is taking care of (she does the babysitting) are also sick, even her. So I guess its because of the weather.

Back to my son, fortunately, he doesn't vomit often unlike before that when he has a cough and after taking his milk, he will just puke it out. I already have my plastic bags ready in our bed in case. My husband asked me if its possible he can get flu even he completed his flu vaccine. I told him it can be because like the rotavirus he got last August, he completed the vaccine and still, got it.

I am still observing him today and if the fever doesn't subside this afternoon, we will go to his pedia for checkup. I have read in some mothers' group I joined in that when a fever doesn't go away for more than 24 hours, it is better to see a doctor to check our children. While waiting for the afternoon, I am doing these steps on how to soothe my son's coughs and colds because being a mother made me do my own research and some based on my personal experience on how to give a little comfort for my son while suffering from this sickness.

My remedies for coughs and colds:

Nasal Spray is my bestfriend.

Nasal congestion is the hallmark of the cold and the best way to unclog it is by using nasal spray. This is always on top of my list and making it sure that I always have this in my son's medicine kit.

Warm liquids.

Try to warm your chid's milk and water because giving it to them This might help sooth their cold. Minimize giving milk and give more water instead because milk stimulates mucous production and water actually help keep mucus thinner. Warm chicken soup is another alternative too.
Proper Hand-washing Habit.

You can stop spreading infection if you constantly wash your hands especially after attending to your sick child. Always practice proper handwashing. I always invest in an antibacterial hand soap that you I buy for only 12 dirhams in the supermarket.
Vitamin C.

I just started giving my child regularly vitamin C 2 weeks ago. His pedia advised that vitamin D is enough and just give my child lots of vitamin c packed fruits and let his immune system do the rest but with this kind of weather we are having today, I decided to give him vitamin c that I mix in his milk because he doesn't like to take it.
Menthol.

I have the vicks baby rub to put on his chest, back and soles of his feet before going to bed to help him sleep comfortably. It actually works for him everytime we gave him this.
Wet Towel

This approach can lessen your children's fever but I wouldn't advise the cold sponge bath if your child body temperature reaches 40 degrees. A tap water will do and try to dress in light clothing contrary to what I have observed that when fever is present, we need to wrap them with blankets and thick clothes.

TLC.

Loving care is the simplest and most basic one any parent can provide. As much as we want to take a rest because of the sleepless nights caused by coughs and colds, a proper bed rest and a loving touch helps relieves our children's illness. Our children may need our constant attention which can be draining but we need to stretch our patience because they don't have others to rely on but us, their parents.

I hope this afternoon his fever will go away so we don't need to bring him to the doctor. As a parent it hard to see your child suffers as my husband often says when my son gets sick.

Bigay mo nalang yan kay Papa nak. (Just give that to Papa son.)

Referring to whatever he makes our son uncomfortable.

Image sources:
[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8]

24623480_1683696081703776_478176166_o.jpg
Banner made by @iwrite

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Get well soon to your child po mam.

He is under the weather sis. Get well soon dearest one.

all good tips you are lucky your boss is undersanding

get well soon sa baby mo ms. arlin! ^_^

get well soon baby.. our nephew is also sick. i think its the weather

Thanks for sharing sis! This can help a lot of parents especially for new moms... Ganda ng post mo :)

Get well soon baby arjei

it is the most difficult feeling, if only their sickness can be transfered to us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65718.58
ETH 2677.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91