DEALING WITH TANTRUMS

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

    I sometimes lose my patience when it comes to dealing with my little one's tantrums. I am just lucky I married a wonderful man who can tolerate my son's meltdowns and always reminds me to keep my cool but when he keeps on having this ear-shattering screams, add the punching and kicking and scratching on my face especially in the public area when trying to pacify him is kind of embarrassing and awkward that sometimes keeps my temper out of control too. Pretty draining.

Ibalik ta timo kar on sa busong ko!
I will return you to my womb!

These are the words I often mumble when my son​ throws a temper tantrum. And from there, my hero husband enters the scene, always to the rescue.

Here I listed down SOME WAYS TO TAME AND DEAL with little one's TANTRUMS in public areas with the help of my husband:

KEEP YOU COOL


     If the situation gets frustrating, take deep breathes. Speak softly and ask what your child wants. Control your emotions. Don't let your child's tantrums get into you.


DONT YELL


    Speak in a soothing voice. Yelling, pointing a finger and threatening your child won't do any good. Chances are, your child will just get wilder. This is what I observe when dealing my son. The more I yell at him, the more he screams.


DIVERSIONS

    Give your child something to play with while in their stroller. They also get bored while just sitting in their strollers doing nothing. Bring their favorite toys. I always make sure I bring my son's favorite lolo lion, a stuffed toy lion when going out. It helps him calms down during his meltdowns.


THE CUBICLE


     It's awkward having a screaming child in tow while doing your shopping that's why mall restroom is my bestfriend. We squeezed ourselves in a cubicle and allow him to scream as he might while hugging him until he calms down. Sometimes a screaming child only wants attention that can only be stopped if you are in a private area. Explain to your child that he can cry as long as he wants while in there. Saves yourself from embarrassment too.


CARRY YOUR CHILD


    If diversions are not working, try carrying your child. I do carry my 17-months old and 30 lbs son for a good 10 minutes while shopping. It buys you time sometimes. My husband bought a carrier for our toddler to support us when carrying him during our outside walks and shopping. You never know when your child's tantrums gonna start.


OFFER A HUG


    Parents are the safest place to let your child emotions out. Explain to them that their behavior is not acceptable. If hug works for us adults, this definitely works with our children too. It helps relieves anxiety and stress. So next time your toddler throws tantrums, try to ​give him a comforting hug. Maybe they just simply​ want your affection.


Thank you for reading.

signature_1.gif

mother of a 17-month old boy

22140936_10155285864677600_2642691663163734904_n.jpg

Image source
[1][2][3][4][5][6]

Sort:  

Love this! When I get mad with my daughter, I rarely yell/get angry. I always give her a hug after I scolded her for something she did wrong. Okay lang magalit pero pag nakinig naman, appreciate them too and tell them you love em :)

Totoo. Pero minsan aksi pagod kana tapos pagdating sa bahay ngawa ng ngawa. hahah!! Sila ung pagod na nakakawala ng pagod sis. :D

If I'll be married soon I'm gonna remember all these reminders and you really have a very good husband for dealing it. By the way, how did you make this kind of formatting? hehe

I am really lucky for having him @lebron2016

untitled.JPG
I used this. Feel free to ask me anytime. :)

These info will be handy in the future Thanks mom i meam mam for sharing :)

bilisan na sis. Sarap maging nanay. :D

I salute people who has the patience for kids haha

same here. kelangan lang din talgang sobrang haba ng pasensya.

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Really true, it's very frustrating sometimes specially if you didn't know the reason behind their outburst. Hugs and kisses do the tricks for me.. :-)

Especially with kids who don't​ talk yet. Action lang. Turo2. heheh!!

Hang in there mommy! Time flies and soon you'll see your little one is already a grown up kid. 😉

I have 3- 8 y/o, 3.5 and 22mos. Though they do not throw tantrums a lot, but my little one is so active he wants to run in all directions!

Kaya kapit lang. Di ka nag iisa. 😅😉😆

Naiimagine kita sis with your kids. Hayz. Ako maya2, "no. dont." hahahaha!!

Haha... true... kaya naman first word nila is "NO".. kasi un ang madalas marinig. Lol.😂

A very sweet and loving approach to parenting! My husband and I watched a video where toddlers (brother and sister) smeared peanut butter all over the house. When my husband saw how proud they were of their work, he laughed and said, "You can't even be mad at them for this!"
It goes along so well with tantrums and meltdowns too. There are just so many loving approaches to showing them appropriate behavior.

Hi @wachtelsgfamily. Agree with you . And I dont believe in physical punishment either. Thanks for stopping by. :)

ganang age po talaga ng bata ay kakulitang kakulitan nila haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32