Today's Adventure: Willow's Return to the Doctor.

in #parenting6 years ago

Two Saturday's ago my tiny little Willow fell on the ice. I brought her to the ER for X-Rays of her clavical, which was swollen and in intense pain.

They found nothing, gave no solution and sent us on our way.

A week later, Willow is still in so much pain that she gasps in pain at a bump. I picked her up to put her in a cart and she stopped breathing.

So, back for a second opinion. Two additional X-rays, several hours of waiting and we have a new result.

0312181234.jpg

An entire week without proper care. Willow's fall fractured her clavical. She has to wear a sling for 3-4 weeks. Her bump has a potential to stay with her the rest of her life.

I'm so heartbroken. I never would have taken her to Gooseberry over the weekend or had her going out from place to place as we did had I known.

Feels like another #parentingfailure. Ignoring instinct has never gotten me anywhere in life and instinct was telling me there was something more wrong.

Give your kids a hug and kiss and a good long cuddle.

Sort:  

No parenting issues here. you brought her back to the hospital, right?And she is being taken care of. Perhaps the first doctor wasnt able to see the fracture the first time. But that doesn't make you any less of a parent because of that. You don't have x-ray vision do you? If so could you have a look at my ankle? :p lol <3 All is well xx

Thank you.

And no, lol, no x-ray vision.

Definitely not a parenting failure. A #doctorfailure if you ask me. Hugs. 💚

Thank you dear, I just feel like I tell myself so often not to ignore instinct. And instinct had a lot to say about this.

In retro-perspective it's always easy to think that things should have been done differently, and some people tend to blame themselves a lot - but there is just no point. What has been done has been done, and you did the right thing considering the information you had available at that point.

It was also in your instinct to spend the lovely Sunday on some nice activity with the kids. Consider the opposite scenario for a while - consider that everything was fine and getting better. You had all your reasons to believe so. Perhaps the arm would have been completely fine by Sunday evening already. Consider that you would have been sitting indoors relaxing because you were worried about the arm. Maybe, just maybe you would have been annoyed in the evening for ignoring your instincts and wasting such a fine Sunday?

I heard about a guy that bought Bitcoin very early on and earned millions on selling them in 2017 - instead of being happy with the money he earned, he's unhappy and upset because he "ignored his instinct" and selling all of it in late 2016, he'd could have earned maybe hundred millions if he would have sold it a year later.

Poor kid! I used to be a terror in hospitals with my kids. If I sensed something more was wrong I would demand another x-ray. And if the first hospital wouldn't do it I went to a second. I never trust the first diagnosis of anything. Just call me paranoid. Our health care (in any country) is going down hill.

So very true! And the smaller the town the worse it gets! I think people are too tired to care anymore like they use to. Too much shoved in, not enough people doing the job.

Wishing little willow a quick recovery, mothers know best so never ignore your instincts as a mother no matter what.

It is not your fault @hickorymack, you take a very intime action but the report of x.ray make this problem. You are a caring parent... now you may take proper care of her for 3-4 weeks to recover her health.

Don't be so hard on your self , Your doing great

Not the first time something like this had happened. A friend's little girl fractured her leg on the trampoline and the doctors wouldn't even x-ray because they didn't believe it could be broken. After over a week of trying to get her referred for an x-ray mum took her to a private clinic and paid for it herself! Finally got it put in a cast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56