Parenting Hack #2: The 5 Minute Rule

in #parenting7 years ago

This one is a lifesaver.

I didn’t really know exhaustion until I’d experienced parenting multiple kids.

IMG_3826.jpg

Here’s the scenario:

You have spent most of the day away from home, running errands and possibly also doing something more fun like a trip to the park.

Sounds simple. Sounds manageable?
Add a couple kids.

Now you’ve not only done those otherwise simple enjoyable tasks, you’ve also buckled and unbuckled car seats 15 times, settled sibling disputes over anything and everything, gone to three different grocery stores in search of the best deals, the right cereal and the non-cardboard tasting gluten free bread. You’ve changed diapers, wiped bottoms and made about six frantic trips to the washroom with a toddler in tow. You’ve lost grocery lists, strained to hear the news on the radio and finally resorted to a “who can be the quietest” competition.

Your head is aching, your mind is spinning, and your patience is waning. Worst of all you still need to make dinner and get these little people to bed!

Enter: “ The 5 Minute Rule”.

Here’s how it works. You say, “We're all going into the house, when we get there I will set the timer and no one is allowed to ask me anything for 5 minutes.” That’s it. This allows you to get in a better frame of mind, pop a Tylenol, and make a plan. Often my kids will go off to play and forget about their urgent questions and demands.

Sometimes I even get 10 minutes.

Sort:  

I have 2 7-year-old twin boys - any suggestions?

Ah, twins, you are busy! What would be your biggest frustration?

I love them dearly. They just don't like to listen, however.

Noted. I'll get my thoughts together, I do have a few ideas...

Thank you. We have tried everything...time-outs, taking away privileges, reinforcing the good behavior...ugh!!!

Its so discouraging when you feel like nothing is working. That's why parents need each other. There have been so many times when my kids have entered a new stage and I have felt like I didn't have the particular "tool" for the job...ya know? Lots of times, just talking to a friend helps a new idea to pop up, and it might just be the one that works!

Yes, we do need each other for support and advice!

I never thought of this... great advice ;-)

Thanks! Let me know how it works for you...

For now I make my kids walk to the park or ride a bike.
Most of the time they come home tired but exceptions DO happen and your tip will work great at that time :)

Congratulations @hereishome! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61