Parenting - Instead of punishment!

in #parenting7 years ago

images.jpg

Here are some very useful solutions that you can use instead of punishment when it comes to educating your child

  • Express your feelings firmly without launching personal attacks - "I'm mad because my new golf-stick has been scratched";
  • Make your expectations "I expect my things to be taken care of when they are borrowed";
  • show the child how to fix things - "we use the golf-stick on the grass not on the asphalt";
  • give the child the choice - "you can use my golf-stick and play with her on the grass or you can give up the privilege of using it";
  • Take action - "My golf-stick is locked in the locker";
  • solve the problem - "which would be the solution for you to use my golf-stick only on the grass so I can be sure it does not scratch it"

Hebro

Sort:  

Hey Friend. Please follow me @bolang
I just finished college, I have not been able to work for a while, need your support to be more advanced in steemit as a new lesson for me.
So the struggle is real. Please help me and help your pocket. The more you support me the less dependent on my government and the less I take out your pocket. It costs you nothing to hit such buttons and it will mean the world to me.

Following now! A follow back is appropriated!

Yes, it is!

Some kids just provoking you take action. Anyways spare the rod spoil the child. Wish parenting could actually be simplified to a math formula.

good points

Adapting an Authoritative parenting style involves the four dimensions of:
-warmth and nurturance
-consistent control
-expectations
-communication.
It involves high acceptance and involvement, adaptive control techniques and the granting of appropriate autonomy, which leads to a positive mood, self-control, task persistence, cooperativeness, social and moral maturity and favourable school performance.
Your theory, sounds about right ;) Parenting is far better than punishment.

As a parent myself, I feel it's very important to instill these principles from a young age.

Dear kids just Be glad that you were not born in Indian household :P .... My parents must have hit me with almost everything in my house and they love me ... Imagine indian parents who don't love their kid ;)

Nice post, great way to deal with situations bound to come up. Especially durin summer when all the kids are running around lol. Communication is always key, dont freak the kids out. Teach them :p

I like your tips and I would use them with my own future children in addition to punishment. I would consider this the first two warmings.

It's awesome! Curiously, most of parents don't act as parents, most like enemies. It's very sad for me to see some kids being attacked by their parents, just because of thinking, kids needs to feela certain level of pain in order to avoid misbehavior, and the excuse of "my parents were this way to me". We really need to look for the manner to educate parents in the way they educate their children.

Funny...I thought they go hand in hand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44