Yesterday's Lesson. Work For It!

in #parenting6 years ago

There is a lesson to learn in every single day of our lives. I like to think that if there is no longer something to learn about then death will linger not far behind.

Yesterday, something happened where the 4 of us, my children and I, learned a pretty good lesson.

As I was going through the posts of a dear fellow steemian... Yes I am pointing at you @dandays!! ~ Dandays is one person that you wouldn't want to miss having around. He is a funny man, a great commenter, creates great content and will never cease to mention how lucky he is. Truth be told, I think he needs to say it more :p The man is lucky... Have you met his wife? Go get yourself acquainted to them both if you haven't wet. What are you waiting for? GO GO GO!

Anyways, as I was saying, I was going through his posts as I have started missing him. I owe the man ( he doesn't know it) some support and I really care to support. He's stuck around with me when I went MIA, and I really appreciate that. Thank you ^_^. He is so full of life it is contagious. You can not not be happy around him. Anyways.... Geeze dude....

As I was reading one of his posts and typed away a comment, I heard the kids starting to get more excited. I was hearing them but not paying attention. I started reading another one of his posts, wanted to see what was happening, wanting to catch up and all, when all of a sudden my son, Aaden (7), runs into the office room with a huge smile. I looked at him and noticed something was different but couldn't pinpoint it. He couldn't contain his excitement anymore as he jumped up and down and blurted out the words "I cut my hair".

WHAAA?

Then I saw it. He chopped off his bangs. Oh boy....OK. It's not so bad... You'd have to really look at it to notice it. I mean if you are looking at it quickly, you can't see it....right?

But then who comes running to me? "Me too, mommy! Me too! Look, look , look, me too!" In comes Frankie (3)showing off her new dew.

Frankie had a straight cut like that girl in the movie, Pulp Fiction. The long hair you are seeing are mostly from the back. So most of the side is cut short. The other side has only a few strands that are cut. Oooooh boy...

And they both were not the only ones to have a new haircut. This doll, had longer hair, now sporting a boy cut.

This horse decided to donate to violin bows. How luck the one to have a pink bow :p

And what happened to Emma (5)? She was able to stand her ground and refuse the free cut promo her brother so kindly offered. Smart girl.

So what do you do in a time like this? Is this something younger kids usually do? Should my 7 yr old know better?

This is the first time I had to deal with this, my sister telling me her stories but her kids were maybe 3 yrs old or 4. Friends telling me the same, one telling me her daughter was 7 too. I thought I was going to get away with it and have awesome kids... aside from Frankie... Frankie is special, awesome, but special. She is a special kind of messy child. Very curious. Grateful she hasn't gotten into anything in a long time.

The best thing I could think of during this time was to teach my son that actions have consequences and sometimes, those consequences costs money. He is still at the stage where he thinks $200 makes us millionaires. So how to explain it to him that now I have to pay for haircuts ( I would probably do worse than what he did). Thankfully, Frankie has many horses and dolls so I won't need to replace any and she wasn't upset at it.
And so, I put my son to work. Working to pay off those haircuts. I explained to him that we have budgets to maintain and that giving the kids haircuts wasn't planned for this week. There is a time to pay for different things and when we need extra things we have to work for the money to pay for it. I thought this was fair. Not as punishment but as a lesson to learn. My son also has destructive tendencies on little things but also has to understand that it costs money to fix the damages. So this is something that I thought would be a great learning curve for him and I am hoping that he will think a little bit more about his actions before letting impulse take over. Keeping in mind that he is 7 and he is a boy after all.

He did work to pay it off, he did the dishes, he swept the floor, he cleaned the living room, cleaned up the table, filled up the wood pile. I would have gotten him to do more, but he was starting to not pay attention anymore. His focus was no longer on what he was doing but more on being silly with what he could be doing instead. I thought it was a good time to stop. Pick my battles and work with it. I am certain this won't be the last time.

Other lessons learned; I learned that I just can't be on the computer for as long as I want to be. That kids are still kids no matter how responsible I think they are... or hope they are.
Emma learned to stand her ground and be strong, not letting her brother be the boss.
Frankie, I hope she learned to not do the same as her brother. I at least know that she learned that doll hair does not grow back.

So tell me, have you had this experience with your young ones?

Foxyspirit.jpg

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

Sort:  

Lol! Wait, that isn’t big enough.

LOL

Still not big enough

174A0E3F-862A-4576-A9C0-D2D711968360.jpeg
Perfect!

@foxyspirit, great post! You know I would’ve loved this story even if I wasn’t the culprit guilty of distracting you from your kids, right? But, like the destructive natured, runs with scissors boy that we’re born to be... I really, really love it and can only hope for an injury-free sequel! Sounds like a classic! (Eh, that sequel part was funny, huh?)

Thank you so much for the kind words, foxy, believe me when I say the feelings are mutual! Did you see all of those nice things you said about me?? Shooooot... the words you’re reading right now were thumbed by the luckiest guy I know! 😉

About keeping an eye on you, I can’t help it, I look forward to reading the #actual-content produced by the wife who puts her husband first, the homesteading, blogging, gardening, vlogging, snow shoveling, mother of seven three (same thing) puts together. So, when you go awol I’m probably just being selfish like “hey!!! How long is that dang tattoo party gonna last anyway?!”

I’m flattered to be permanently associated with the scissors story, foxy, thank you so much for telling us the details. Happy Tuesday #steemitmama and you #powerhousecreative you! Snow shoveling, crocheting, blockchaining (you getting all this?!), friend of mine! ♥️

Ok... I am going to need some time with this comment. I can't top this.

1... SHIT That tattoo party! lol I forgot to post about it! LOL

  1. There is a sequal. I just just posted it now.

  2. You damn right you lucky :p

  3. I am happy that I can entertain you. Knowing that I can make you laugh and all makes me feel accomplished. And you putting all that I do down, black on white screen... do I really do all that? ...hehehe mother of 7 ;)

  4. You flattered? Then what the heck am I? I am the one being flattered here. You know more about me than I do.

You are an awesome being and an awesome friend. Take a bow and enjoy the loving!

I want to write more but the hubby is calling! Enjoy the evening ^_^

Oh! Thank you for the resteem and support <3

This is hilarious @foxyspirit. I do empathize with you though. You can’t take your eye off those little humans for a second. Good lesson you created out of it. Bravo Mom!

Little humans? Little spawns? Little creatures of the night taking over? Hm... let me think... :p

There is definitely a lesson in it all. Notice I am replying to the comments at 10:14pm after the kids are in bed and sleeping :p

Haha… no one can cut their hair while they are sleeping… Little people sure do take up a lot of attention and energy. You’re doing a great job Mom, just Incase nobodies told you lately. It’s hair, it’ll grow back but these memories will last a lifetime, for all of you.

They sure do. My nights are usually not that late lol. I can't even watch much of a movie without passing out during lol.
Thank you for saying that. It means a lot <3

I hear ya, we are in bed by 9:30 and crashed out by 10. Staying up late isn’t as appealing as it once was. We much prefer to get up early :)

I can still afford to sleep in :P Can I, please? Pretty please?

Oh God, I try to but Dandays is up at 4:30 am every single morning. That might be earlier than any toddler I know. Haha… so, I’m up at 6:00 and that’s as good as it gets for me. It’s kind of cool to almost see the sunrise though 🤷🏼‍♀️

Jesus! That is the devils hour! @dandays, it wouldn't kill ya to sleep a little more! XD

6:30 is the time I have to get up at to get the kids ready for school. During the weekends I wish for 8:30. But 7-7:30 is as good as it gets.

Hey @foxyspirit, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in your reply to their post. Call me out!!

How cool! Thank you! And thank you @dandays for the mention ;)

Feel free, to give me a shout if you find a post you would like to see get Splatted!!

Cheers
and
Steem On

Will do! Thanks ^_^

Good thing hair grows :)
And you got some help with the chores.... haha

I'll share a story
So last year, I come back from running errands, my 9 year opens the door and tells me the laundry was piling up and he had helped me put them in the washing machine to wash.
So I am walking into the house, carrying stuff in, my heart full of love for this child, thanking him for being so thoughtful
And in the midst of all this, he tells me
I didn't know how much bleach to pour in, so I just poured in I cup, I hope that was enough.
Can you imagine, I dropped everything and ran to the back in the hopes of saving my laundry.... nope... we had quite a few clothes.. some actually just bought for the festive season, worn only once or twice including The Hubs new favourite shirt, all with patches.

What do you do? hahaha
I think the way I reacted scared him already.
. I explained to him about bleach (which I was pretty sure he knew about... I don't know... could be me assuming) and showed him the detergent he would need to use.
And that night, after the kids had gone to bed, I had to gently break the news to The Hubs and told him the boy already got a scare from the way I reacted, and to let it go.
He was 9 ..... gahhhh

@kaerpediem. Hot coffee, that’s right, h.o.t. coffee almost came right out a nostrile on that one!

Sorry about the hot coffee but I'm happy I gave you a laugh :D @dandays

Oh dear lord! You know, I am more thankful now that I don't have bleach in the house lol. I could see that happening! I feel your pain! Oh man! lol

205E20BC-ADBF-4851-A6BC-5B8FDE2B7D01.jpeg

DAH HA HA HA. They thought they needed haircuts so they took the bull by the horns and did a little DIY hair cut session. You are not alone, my son absolutely butchered his hair so bad we had to shave it. But what topped it off was he dressed himself up in his finest apparel, including a clip on tie, to come and display his amazing hair cutting skills.
Destructive??? Kids??? No way!! My daughter will take brand new socks and cut them up to make diapers for her dolls. My son, takes everything apart, so every click pen in the house, ya they no longer click.
Thanks for sharing a hilarious family experience with all of us.
Cheers

Oh ya - @dandays and @puravidaville - they truly are, Good People.

Posted using Partiko iOS

“A” p.u.r.A @puravidaville, @jlsplatts is showing off his DYI DIYA D.I.Y spelling skills again. 👍🏿

You’re the best @jlsplatts. I never thought I’d be so entertained this am by ya’allz’s.. ya’alls.. ima need a lineman to help me spell that one—ya’all kids! Clicking pens that don’t click—that’s funny!

You ever thought about maybe buying her dolls some diapers? I’m no expert but I think she’s trying to tell you her dolls needs diapers.

@foxyspirit, don’t mind me, just running all through your blog like “Resource credits, Shmesource credits.”

@splatz. Where you at?!

You rang Sir @dandays? Someone needs a good Splattin’ you say.

I can barely read let alone spell wut me reedin’

:D I am quite enjoying seeing you here actually. Your comments are making my day!

It’s a good thing! Apparently my thumbs have no boundaries, I scrolled through your comments again and I’m all over the frikkin place! 😉

Hehehe, enjoying the tales of our 'Once my child did...'? I know I am :p

In case I haven’t told you lately miss @foxyspirit, I’m glad we met. 👍🏿

Hahah! Look at that! He's a cutie! And just look at his face, that look he has XD

Frankie likes to dig in the cakes I make for customers, paint things with nail polish, sleep with steak (somehow) etc. My son peels the paint off the walls and also enjoys decorating them with sharpies etc etc. Kids do not come with warning labels lol!
Thank you for sharing with me as well. I'm loving this!

When things like this happen... you post it😂🤣😂 I remember going under the kitchen table as a kid and cutting my hair. So far my boys hate hair cuts so I’m safe for a little while... I think

I don't I have ever done it but I could be wrong. I don't remember lol. Definitely something to post about :P

😂😂😂 what a funny experiment😂 at least they're do it to themselves and toys😊 my nieces and nephews did that to everything else except themselves including the couch and bed-cover😂

I think you can teach them on cutting paper too😊

Oh no not the couch and blankets!

Actually you just gave me an idea!!! A blog post for tomorrow. Thank you <3... I gotta write it down before I forget...

They need some experience and experiment too.. and they'll laugh when they read this post next 20 years 😂 they're not 7 and 3 everyday... so, you're doing the right thing on them 😉, what's that ... what's idea? Aahh.. i gotta check on your next posts😆

I didn't have time to write the post today, much less the idea I wanted to do. It'll be something tomorrow. Today was a bit of an off day for me.

They are definitely not 7 and 3 for long. Making the most of what we can :)

Kids are crazy! I have three that are adults now and they have children of their own. Kids are crazy. All three cut each other's hair at one point and, i am told, all five of the Grand Georges have cut each other's hair as well. I am so pleased you were able to use this as a teaching moment.

Oh absolutely. I thought I could get away without this happening but nope.

Teaching moments are always welcomed. Part of life <3

Yes, there is never a way to get away from paying the piper. Haha. I am just glad there are no ears missing! You young mothers are amazing.

These are the stories we Will tell eachother when they are all grown up,
And it Made me laugh
Gr.
Britt

I'm thinking their weddings lol. I have a few stocked up already :p

Metoo have a little black book and they dont know have it and its for all 4 of our kids

HAHAHA! I hope your kids are not too snoopy with your things. Hoping they don't find it :P

Hahahah hope not all the embarrassing things are in it 😉

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 161 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84