You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ⒶⒷⓇⒶⒽⒶⓂ - if children were left to their own devices they would not go astray

in #parenting6 years ago

Well... I agree "helipcopter" parenting is way over the top, but... they don't seem to have an innate understanding of electric fences, for instance.

Sort:  

Assuming it is a non lethal electric fence (which one would hope kids are not within reach of) I think they will figure it out pretty quick without too much harm done.

I remember the moment I figured out what an electric fence was in the fields of Switzerland and quickly identified these fences as being visually different to the others in the way they had small orange balls on them. Problem solved. Without any need for parental concern.

Though I do agree that a basic understanding of the world around them is needed before they can be free to explore...

Just different lifestyles! I live in ranching country, every place has an electric fence and if they have a bull, it is a doozy. Every home has a woodstove, and while the child might not get burned to death by touching it, they can be severely burned. Canyon country too, and whitewater river country. Pretty much every year some kid wanders off a cliff or into the river. Just a lot of places where kids are lured by what the law calls "attractive nuisances. I don't really want to seem argumentative, but I am siding with mummy I guess lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41