You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My toddler isn't shy; you're just too aggressive

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

Great post! I had an experience at an event recently where a group of people were trying to "force" (encourage) a toddler to interact with me. It made me feel very uncomfortable and I regret not telling them so. I always want to give other people, children and adults alike, the space to choose for themselves. And it seems especially important to me that children develop their own agency and morality as opposed to acting based primarily on conditioning and coercion.

Sort:  

Yes!! You totally get it.

It can be quite difficult to know exactly what to say in the awkward moment. I always struggle with this.

Maybe we are just too polite :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79