You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dark, Disturbing and Somewhat Horrible, the History and Origins of Nursery Rhymes #4: 🌸 Lucy Locket 🌸

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

I remember being a little disturbed by this one as a child. Most nursery rhymes were very unsatisfying for me. They never seemed to go anywhere or have a happy ending. So I remember asking several questions about this one. (I didn't especially like it.)

First ... how could she lose a pocket? (Since those were sewed securely to your clothes.) My parents said this was a short word for "pocketbook" ... which was another name for a purse. Ok, that made sense to me.

Next ---> did Kitty Fisher take the lost purse back to its owner? (Even without any money in it, the purse still had some value. I darkly suspected the Kitty kept the purse for herself on a "finders-keepers" rationale.) My parents didn't know. The rhyme didn't say. (They were getting a little impatient by this time.)

Next ---> was the ribbon red by any chance? (My favorite color.) And did that give the purse more value -- since that ribbon seems to somehow stand in for the lack of pennies. (Answer: No, that just made it pretty.)

This whole thing still did not make sense to me. (And my parents clearly wished they were dealing with an easier child.) And I still didn't like the rhyme. And the answers didn't help.

The-STEEM-Engine

Sort:  

@enchantedspirit LOL that's brilliant! I love your thought rationale as a child :) Sorry to shatter the illusion, but hopefully you'll have closure now :)

I do enjoy learning what these little stories we all learn as children really mean. The curious kid in me still asks questions ... and closure is important. Thank you for doing these. This series really has been interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40