A Letter To My Mother

in #parenting7 years ago

Dear Mama,

I was up at 4 a.m. with a fussing baby and a preschooler who needed extra cuddles, and I remember you. I remember your silhouette at our kitchen table at that hour; your pen scratched against the pages of your journal while the smoke of your cigarette curled around the fingers in your free hand. I used to wonder if you ever slept. Now, I understand.

Dear Mama,

It’s Spring Break for Beans, and her extra hands are a burden and a blessing with Monster Girl and Lamb. When the two oldest get to fighting and the youngest stays attached at my breast, I remember you. I remember when you would make my brother and I hug it out as you rocked our youngest brother to sleep. We hated it, but did as we were told when your voice got stern. I wondered why you were so ‘mean’. Now, I understand.
11709817_1585795945005297_8419500193778816224_n.jpg

Dear Mama,

It’s another dinner of disappointments. Mister P worked hard all day, and came home to freezer meatballs, jarred sauce, and spaghetti. I could read the disappointment in his face, and I fought with the kids to eat at least half of their supper. While I know that clean foods are the basis for any smart, nutritious meal inside the home, there are days I am so tired. And he is tired. And Beans always offers to make Peanut Butter and Jelly to help.

When my eyes blink back those stinging tears, and I serve a mediocre dinner with a smile, I think of you. I think of when you’d come home after working a double shift, with our dad still asleep because he works third shifts, and you’d still cook. It might’ve been green beans and hamburger helper, but you still cooked. I used to think that our suppers were gross and boring. Now, I understand.

Dear Mama,

I have lost my way. Hours of mothering and wife-ing have left me numb and depressed. They call it Baby Blues, or being ‘touched-out’. I remember you, curled up on the couch and bawling, because you didn’t hear me come home from school. I remember hugging you, and telling you it could only get better. I remember: you called it Life, and that we had to make the best of it. I thought you were just having a bad day. Now, I understand.

So to my other Mothers out there in the trenches, feeling like there’s no back-up, and the war is never ending: I understand. There are many more of us out there, silently holding everything together.

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations @emprata88, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43