Raising Your Kids Right

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

I think that the best thing that my mom ever said to me about my career path was- "I know you will be successful with whatever you choose to do". Not because it is a pick me up to hear that or anything, but because she did not attempt to limit me or guide me with any type of career or path she wanted me to go down. It is something that many parents don't realize. People often tell their children what is expected of them and what they should be doing with themselves and that limits their minds to the general box of choices that you handed them. They will not think much farther outside of that usually and if they fail at the given choices then they will be disappointed that they couldn't live up to your expectations.

Sort:  

@elb5465, great article.

One thing that I have come to believe is that a traditional 4 year college education is not the best preparation for life for all young people. Although college was a great learning time for me, it might not be the best fit for all of my children.

I want to give my kids the freedom to make choices about education, since these important decisions often help or hinder career paths for the future.

As a dad, I want my kids to be less worried about please me and more focused on finding a career that they find to be meaningful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54