First time mum expectations

in #parenting7 years ago

When I was pregnant I had such big ideas about how life would be with a baby. My days were going to be filled with long walks while the baby sleeps in her stroller. I was going to be able to get the washing done, tea cooked and live in a spotless house. It was going to be awesome.

IMG_0126.JPG
This is not me pushing the baby, it's how I had imagined life would be....I wish!

Shortly after we got home from the hospital did I start to realise how wrong I was.

It quickly became apparent that I didn't have time to cook us a healthy meal. I barely had time to feed myself. I was limited to eating food that I could eat with one hand, while I was either nursing my baby, getting her to sleep, or walking around in endless circles of our lounge, keeping her happy. There really wasn't much time to cook. I was eating toast, scones, muffins or sandwiches. All types of food that my body doesn't like. But I was STARVING and needed to eat. I didn't have time to cook an actual meal.

IMG_0127.JPG

A few days after being home I thought that I had better walk our poor dog. Man, I felt guilty about him. He's my fur-baby! I treated him like my child and then we turned up home with an actual baby that took all my time and my poor dog got shoved aside. I thought to myself "no problem, I'll get out for a walk and my baby can sleep while we are out. Babies sleep in prams right?"
Wrong again. This baby doesn't sleep in a pram. The opposite happens. Lots of crying and screaming about 3 minutes down the road. I tried for 3 months to get her to like her pram with no luck. Each walk would end up with me carrying her in my arms while trying to push a pram and walk a 40 kg dog. I ended up buying a carrier which I think has been the best thing I've ever spent money on. At least now I can get out for a walk with my baby strapped to me, and the dog is happy with his life again!

As for having a spotless house....hahaha! Some days I struggled to clean myself, let alone my house! I had to let my partner know what to expect when he got home. In the early days the house was usually untidy with dirty dishes, tea half prepared, dirty washing piling up. He always told me that my job is to look after our baby and he didn't expect anything else. I did though. I felt absolutely useless. How could I go from a senior team member in a high pressure job to someone who couldn't look after a household and do a few basic chores? Seriously, it was hard work and I felt guilt for pretty much everything that I couldn't do, especially when my partner would get home from a long day working and then having to come home and either clean up and cook tea, or go straight into looking after our baby so that I could cook or clean.

I've learned over time to let go of any expectations for what I can achieve in my day. Once I realised that I was the one putting the pressure on myself to get everything done and when I learned to just let go, I started relaxing and enjoying the time with my girl. It's okay for us to live in a house that isn't spotless, or have washing that isn't folded immediately. I'm not going to remember those things in the years ahead, but I will remember my daughters first smiles and laughs from our playing. I will remember watching her learning to use her hands. I will remember how much she loves our dog and how she just wants to be close to him and watch him. I will remember the cuddling and the closeness and how strong our bond is. It's time I won't get back and I will never regret spending time with her instead of doing chores.

IMG_0128.JPG

Images from www.pixabay.com

Sort:  

How very true. Going with the flow and living in the moment is one of the best ways to live. When you can relax and just do what you can each day without stressing over the things that don't matter is a great lesson learned. I enjoyed reading your story which brought back memories of my own.

Thanks for commenting. It truly is a special time to be able to watch them grow.

Haha how true this is! Ideas of parenthood never seem to turn out as expected. They say it gets easier with time.....my experience of this - it doesn't. Old challenges are just replaced with new ones, everything is a phase and you learn to adapt to the latest. Thank you for being so honest about your experience, we need more of this among parents. Followed and upvoted.

Thanks for commenting. I really had no idea on how life was going to be. Some things I expected like less sleep and more washing required, but I never realised just how demanding a baby can be!
You're so right about it not getting easier and the demands just get different, but so far I'm realising that it's just something that I have to adapt to. It's a lot of fun though and I wouldn't change it for the world !

Enjoy every second. It's true what they say about them growing up too quickly! How old is your little one?

She's just 9 months old. It's fascinating watching her develop. I'm obsessed with her and seeing her learn how to do new things. She's so pleased with herself now because she's figured out how to clap her hands. It's so cute! It's the best job in the entire world and I'm so thankful that I'm able to stay home and watch her grow.

That's so adorable, enjoy every second of it! I do find being a stay-at-home-mum very challenging at times but I wouldn't swap it for the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66530.02
ETH 3495.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64