You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: English Only Please. The Struggle is Real! (My Story)

in #parenting7 years ago

I can't speak to your situation specifically... but I am Danish and grew up there, but my parents had both lived in the US for many years before returning to Denmark... and insisted on teaching me English and we spoke English at home. It became a bit problematic when I actually had to learn Danish in order to go to kindergarten.

Although people in Denmark speak Danish, English is taught from 2nd grade on... but I get the dilemma of not knowing your native language.

Sort:  

I see that with my grade school kid too. On the PH curriculum we have a Filipino subject where they teach about grammar, literature and lots of stuff. Personally I find Filipino grammar more difficult than English so I just try not to expect too.much from him academically. However at his age (8), I'd really prefer if he can speak it. Now he tries a little bit so I am keeping the faith!. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68