The Barter (or Bargain) Roll - a negotation tool for parents with teens.

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

prod_cat_m_8.jpg
Hey there everyone.. (sorry, misspelled negotiation in the title, wanted to get this up quickly)

Well, have discovered a marvelous negotiation tool recently to use with my teen, He's a good kid, but planning... not his strong suit yet. Can mention, "Hey! How many rolls are left in the bathroom?" which usually turns into sullen teen stare (tm). And then the plaintive plea for assistance at a later time.

"Daaaaaaaaaaadddddd... duh.?!"
(pause)
(pause)
"DHaaaaaaaaaaadddddd... DUH.?!!"

"What?"

(pause)
(pause)

"Can I get you to get me a roll of toilet payper...... PHA-LeeeeeeZE!?"
(pause)

"Didn't you check before you went in there?"
(pause)
(pause)

"Can I get you to get me a roll of toilet payper...... PHA-LEEEEEEEEEZE!?!?"

And so it goes.

So the last time we went to Costco and we put a roll into the bathroom, I put aside a roll. Waiting. Soon enough:

"Daaaaaaaaaaadddddd... duh.?!"
(pause)
(pause)
"DHaaaaaaaaaaadddddd... DUH.?!!"

This time, I was prepared.

"What?"

(pause)
(pause)

"Can I get you to get me a roll of toilet payper...... PHA-LeeeeeeZE!?"
(pause)

"Didn't you check before you went in there?"
(pause)
(pause)

"Can I get you to get me a roll of toilet payper...... PHA-LEEEEEEEEEZE!?!?"

So, plan in action.

"I've asked you more than once to check before you went in there, this time, I'm going to ask.. What will you do to have me get you a roll?"

(pause)
(pause)
(pause)
(pause)

"What do you mean?"(/deflect)

"I've got a roll right here. And I'll give it to you, but I want you to do some work for it."
(Deflection cancelled.)

I could hear the teen angst rolling out from under the door like fake smoke at a Van Halen concert.
84348168d43d6e1dd8d5751a6609861b866cb42f_hq.jpg

Things continued like that for a teensey bit longer:
1d272e325124c3ea2a67b9dd99d1708a.png

And finally, acceptance:
chk_jschl.jpg

"What do you want me to do?"
200_s.gif
Garbage clean up, and dishes to commence tomorrow.

I think it's an important life lesson in planning, sometimes literally and figuratively... you need to deal with your own crap.
e85fa62b3b327681350eac4a3ec36f64--meme-troll-gabriel.jpg

Thank you, I'm here all week.
blade-runner_sm.jpg

Sort:  

This right here is boss level parenting.

Thank you! The roll is back in its place for the next time. The goal is not to punish or to be cruel, the goal is literally to teach him that he needs to learn to plan for things happening. Getting toilet paper is a minor thing, going and delivering a spare tire to him 50 miles out at 3 in the morning while he has a wife and family in the car in the winter is what I'm trying to teach him how to eventually be able to cope with beforehand. :)

Hey follow me and upvotemy post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44