You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Blog] Thoughts from the Front Lines: What We Could Lose

in #parenting7 years ago

this is great, lauren, thank you for sharing! I have many friends who homeschool and although I don't (we had the opportunity to enroll our children in the public school down the street that offers a Spanish Language Immersion program) I absolutely agree with your assertion; we are expecting our children to disengage from us too early and too forcefully, and part of that starts with 'going' to elementary school. I work very hard when my children are not in school to ensure these strong familial bonds remain intact. Right now they are all cuddled on the couch reading books to each other, and I take this one tiny moment and feel blessed. :)

Sort:  

Thank you for reading the post, Bethany - I appreciate the kind words! I debated with myself for some time about publishing this because while I have strong opinions on homeschooling, I hesitate to be very vocal over the Internet because it can be so easily misunderstood as criticism of other parents. Those I know who send their children to school ARE often concerned with the family bonds and it's not as if they're saying, "Oh well, no big deal."

I cherish the image of your children cuddled on the couch reading together - may your hard work pay off and may you experience many, many more such blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31