A Day in a Life of a Work From Home Mother

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

image
Image Source

For the longest time, I thought work from home moms have all the time they need. After all, they're just at home. Now, I'm one and I realized it's not always the case. It depends really on the kind of household you run. The company I now work for, prefers mothers who prefer to work at home. Each one of us has a different story, sleeping patterns, parenting tricks. Today, I'd like to share what it's like for a work from home mom running my kind of household. I'll let you in on a day in a life of a work from home momma.

image

My day starts at 2 am. I work for a US based company so I have to keep up with their time zone. I work at 3 am so that's just enough time for me to take a shower and get my coffee and meditate. From 3 to 5 am, I am focused with my tasks online. Come 5:30, I'd take my 15 minute break to prepare breakfast for my husband who leaves at 6:15 am. By the time he leaves, I go back and finish my shift which lasts until 7am. For now, things are still easy since the kids are off from school. Let's see what chaos it brings come July.

image
I transfer my workstation to the kitchen by past 5 am to prepare breakfast.

Today and every Tuesdays, I load the first basket of laundry by 7, while at it, I bathe and bask our bearded dragons for 30 minutes. After so, I feed them. Feeding normally lasts about 30 minutes since I also have to prepare their salad. Then, Kiero and Kiera's breakfast. By then 1st load of laundry finishes. I hang them up to dry while the 2nd load goes running. Gives me enough time to clean Chase's (our Frenchie) cage and give him food. Then, Kiero takes him to walk after. I sweep around the house, do the beds, pick up few toys here and there, and then take out what's for lunch to thaw. By 9:30, 2nd load done, first load by then is dry enough to be put back on hamper for folding. Hangs to dry the 2nd load, then puts the 3rd.

image
Them two making my tasks longer than usual. Just kidding! Glad they could help!

image
It helps that our pets get along really well!

image
Tastes better than how it looks.

That's just in time for me to start preparing lunch. Today we're having, tamarind base pork soup. Took me about 45 minutes to finish. And the washer rang. Time to hang 3rd load and put the 4th. After loading, now I get to have lunch Kiero and Kiera. The same time I give feeders to the bearded dragons too. 4th load finishes and then same routine. I do the dishes, and then bathe the two kids.

image

It is now quarter after 1. I got all the clothes from the clothesline, left the washer to run for after use maintenance. In 30 minutes or so, I'll walk my son to his gutar lessons class. That's gonna last a couple of hours. Gives me enough time to fold the laundry and take a quick nap. By 5, I'll pick Kiero up from the studio, take out what's to prepare for dinner. Feed the pets, pick up toys. By half past 6, I'll do dinner, have dinner, do dishes, catch up a little with John.

In betweens is me, stopping the two from fighting, picking up knocked down jars and vases from too much running around, making sure kids and pets are hydrated. Day ends by 10 pm, just enough for me to get rest before 2 am alarm goes off.

And that's just Tuesday Laundry Days, folks. Wait till you all hear what it's like on a Monday Market day. Even more, when its back to school season again.

So, the next time you see (deal with) a work from home parent, be nice. Just because they're home all the time doesn't mean they sit on their pretty butts all day waiting for glory. They might just be doing more labor than you are.

Thanks for reading!

Love,
Jonah (and John)

Sort:  
Congratulations! This post has been featured by @bayanihan in its 18th Curation Update. This has been upvoted at 100%.

Lol
I can relate
Working at home is the best ma'am
NO work mate drama or traffic drama.

Haha
You are lucky to have been working from home

Blessings

Yes, my life has been quiet after having no one to work alongside with. Now, I can enjoy my coffee,my job and my pjs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72