On Dealing With The Terrible Two: My Mommy Thoughts.

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

Terrible Two.

If you are a parent, then you have probably heard about this many times. Or, you may have dealt with it or is dealing with it at the moment.

Terrible two is when your toddler acts out - he is confused on whether he is still a baby or if he is now a big boy who can become independent. One moment he is your cute little cuddly baby, the other he is a little monster wrecking havoc in the household.

As a mom, I have been dealing with this for 2 consecutive years now. Hah! Perks of close interval pregnancies. :D

However, I do not want to see this stage as bad as it seems. This should be a wonderful and terrific transition. One of the many that will come in the future. Opposed to dealing with teenage dilemma, I think terrible two is easier to conquer.

Just right now, I have an eight year old boy and I am already thinking how it will be when he grows a little older. Is he still gonna be that sweet to me or what? And oh! What about my girl? How will she be when she is already a teen? I guess by now I would have to rely on the values that we instill on them and pray for the best.

Little Monster

You are at the mall and you cannot do what you came there for. That little monster is hyper active and is running in the opposite direction! Ammmfffttt! Seriously?!

Suddenly he runs back right at you and asked to be carried. Sweet, yeah? :D

So instead of buying that blouse you so badly wanted, you opted to go home. Awww, poor mommy!

However, instead of getting irritated, what if we think that our little one just loved the freedom of the big space? An explorer!

That wall you just repainted? Oh, it's just been doodled on by your little monster! "WTF! I spent the whole day just to make the room looking fresh again! What just happened?"

Hey Daddy! You are raising a creative little fellow there. How about we encourage his creativity with a "freedom wall"?

Don't fret, it's not too bad.

Doesn't it feel good when he comes to you crying with a hurt pinkie finger and with just your kisses he suddenly stops and feels better? Hey mommy, it's a magic kiss!

Up, down! Up, down! You are too stressed as Mr. Terrible has been running up and down those stairs. Why not? What if he trips over? Ughh, the thought makes me shiver. But you know what, you have a confident, fearless fellow out there.

"Mommy, cat! Meow! Meow!"

Our neighborhood has loads of cats and he stops by to perhaps all of them. Arrggh, how can we ever reach home if we have all these stop overs? Mommy, your child appreciates even the littlest things. Let him be.


Parenthood is not a walk in the park.

No. Really NO. I have to admit that it has brought about the worse in me many times. I've lost my temper. I grew tired. I've had self doubt. However, it is comforting to know that ironically, it has also brought about the best in me. Though not in all cases, but I dealt with my flaws with grace and style.

Simply Magical.

There are many ways where we can think of what's happening to us as terrible and appalling. It can affect us negatively and sooner not later, our life will be filled with negativity. Our thoughts attracts energies - think negative, and worse things may come to you. But think positive and the world will be a better place.

That is why we have to take a moment to step back and reflect. Is it really that bad? Are the screams and tantrums supposed to eat us? All these things will come to pass. Kids just grow up waayyy too fast hence we should just enjoy the ride. They are kids only once. One day you will be surprised that you have in front of you a full, functional human being who will need you lesser and lesser...

Before that day comes, just chill and relax. Feel blessed. Not everyone is given the chance to raise little humans. God gave them to you because He knows you are capable.


These are mostly reminders to myself. It's been chaotic and I know I need to sit back and reflect from time to time. I know you parents out there also do!


Hey Moms and Dads! How are you feeling today? I know we all need a break. Come, let's talk. :D


All photos are owned by the author.

Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

SteemPH banner by @bearone

Sort:  

@arrliinn There is a lot of detail in those figures they look amazing.You're a good knowledge person about writing and it's very difficult.
Your job is excellent topic.
Thanks @arrliinn
Have a nice day

Ate tuwang tuwa si baby kay Oh the Boov..sabi ko look alike nya
I’ve forgotten my kiddos needs my magic kiss for their booboos.I will comfort them that way again sometimes.Thanks for reminding 😊

LOL wait till they become teenagers. I have a 16-yo, a very inquisitive 4-yo who talks non-stop, and of course, Zeppelin who is eternally a two year old.

Geez, I am already petrified by the thought of raising teens. LOL.

I dread the day when Zepp's hormones start to kick into gear. lol

Haha... best of luck daddy!

Then I guess I have to prepare myself from now on...my baby' going to be 2 soon!

Yassss!!! Gear up, mommy! :D

Yeahhhh! I know how you felt Mommy! It is a one tough Job that all Mom have to face, but such priceless when you see them pay you with hugs and kisses 😂

Trooothhhs! <3

Oh wow! I can totally relate with you @arrliinn. It seems too long for all our little ones' crankiness and tantrums, but the years are too short til we realize, they're grown ups already, til we cannot hold and kiss 'em the way we did when they were young. That's why I sieze each minute with my kids now.

Really true... one minute their small babies on our arms, next time we know it tumatakbo na. hehe

I am heading soon to the "terrific two" age. sometimes, it overwhelms me, I think they are like "mini teenager" who wants their wants. it need calmness and patience more. :-)

best of luck @sherylneil! Ipon ka na ng maraming patience from now on. haha

Oh my I recall the time when my daughter act the same, I feel so frustrated. Screaming helps tho! hahahah you can survive that dear!

Yes, konting kembot na lang. hehe

haha so cute.
i remember i was showing my mommy how my drawing on the wall looked so nice...she didn't know how to react, because she felt angry i drew on the wall, but at the same time, she felt funny because i was so ignorant and cute.

sit back and relax mommy, we love to play and i know one day you'll miss it so much you'll want them to become little babies again. so let it be for now while they are young and little, with no clue at all.

True @erelasblog... it seems stressful at the forefront, but at the end we just have to understand that they are kids. It will not be long until they grow up and not be this cute. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54