Should we obey our parents ALL the time?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #parenting7 years ago

"Hear your mama, hear your papa, life go better for you" - Mike Okri
This was a popular song way back in the early 90s.

Growing up, I loved football with uncommon passion as was the case for almost every young boy those days. I joined All Stars FC of Warri. Went for trainings for long hours, played in age grade competitions with clubs from neighboring towns. When my father found out, he was mad. Gave me one of the beatings of my life, saying football was for Igbo-smoking, wayward and unintelligent individuals.
"How could you throw away your outstanding performances in academics for football" - he said in a bout of rage. I wept profusely at the prospects of not being able to hone my deftness on the round leather game. My coach and fellow players were disappointed that my father didn't let a budding talented striker have a chance at following his passion. Many players who weren't as talented got opportunities to ply their trades abroad. I watched in frustration as some went to Europe. I listened to my father, and here I am today.

I called him recently to ask if he heard about how much PSG bought Neymar Jr, he replied-"my son, that money big oh". He then asked, "wetin happen to your football career that time sef, you been dey play well well na"?
Abeg na wetin I go answer am?

The import of this is, obeying one's parents could be dicey when it comes to lifelong career choices. In fact it often turns out wrong as even when the children eventually become what their parents preferred, they end up not being satisfied and fulfilled.

Most parents want us to be lawyers, doctors, engineers, accountants and other professions at the expense of our passions and innate talents. Today I'm an engineer but I haven't invented anything. I don't feel passionate about it. There are many others like me who just went to school, acquired degrees and labels without really having any love for such professions.

We need to redesign our educational system to suit the talents that abound in children. We can structure it in such a way that one can become a footballer, musician, mechanic, hairdresser, seamstress or fashion designer, building technician, shoe designer, electrician etc while still acquiring education up to university level. We must not alienate, denigrate and trivialize those valuable skills that are vital to the scientific and technological advancement of a country.

All professions must be given a platform to allow their growth. Killing some for others would lead to failures
in the society. This explains why we can't fix our roads, schools, electricity and other infrastructures. We have wrong people in places they shouldn't be.

Parents must come to terms with the fact that they must not force their children to tow paths that they dreamed for themselves but failed to realize. The children must be allowed to live their own lives. All they need is a platform and support. Do not dictate to them.

Who knows what I would have become if I had continued as a striker?

Written by my friend, Daniel Okojie!

Sort:  

Great information, av always wanted to be a musician but found myself doing something else because of parental pressure,now i just dnt like ma job..

This is the problem! Parents should stop imposing their wishes on their children. The happiness and fulfilment of their children should be of utmost priority

Very good to honour your mother and your father..

Is very important we should obey and honour our parent, because as an elderly one they are, they has capability to see things ahead of us their children, and this gone for parents too, they should have respect and consider their children feelings too

Even the bible said "children obey your parents"

Some times I don't. Life if my parents ask me not to always press my phone. I will bluntly disobey ooh. Because the internet should be part of everyone's life. If not, I would have not known anything called #steemit

Congratulations @apembus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55