Lace Up

in #parenting6 years ago

laceup[1].jpg

Today, I want to talk about fine motor skills. When you have a child that has autism, s/he might have skills lacking in this area. My son did. He was not what the professionals called significantly delayed but I still wanted to help him improve his skills. We looked for items that naturally helps in this area. Some items are puzzles, coloring, writing and playing with play dough. There are a ton more items that helps as well. These are all great but, I created a lot of items that catered to skills that I wanted him to develop more in. In this case, I created a lot of lacing cards. Lacing cards are quick and easy to make. This is how I made them.

  • I started off by going online and finding a picture that I liked. My son was into cars, trucks and bears so I picked these pictures.

  • I used colored stock paper to print out the outline of the pictures.

  • Once the pictures were printed on the paper, I use my small laminating machine to make the lacing cards durable.

  • Then I punched holes in the paper and added one string.

  • Lastly, I added some tape to the end of the string so that it can weave through the lacing card smoothly.

He was able to use the string to weave through the various holes. He really enjoyed these.

IMG_20180219_124941[1].jpg

P.S. As you can see, he got a lot of use out of theses lacing cards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54