I'm Obsessed with Co-Sleeping my Baby ~ Here's 10 Reasons Why!

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

There is currently an interesting taboo around co-sleeping with your baby. Some pediatrics will warn that it can increase risk of SIDS (sudden Infant Death Syndrome) or even pose a risk of rolling over and suffocating your baby. I did a lot of research, although I intuitively knew what felt good for me and my family. I'm unlearning more and more and remembering that the best way to mother my child is to follow my inner guidance and brilliant intuitive compass.

So many conscious pregnant mamas that I support, the first question they often ask, almost whispering, "Do you co-sleep with your baby?" I respond with a cheerful "YES!" It's such a big topic, and as a new mama, we are so vulnerable to the opinions and judgments of our mothers, other family members, co-workers, community members etc.

So, here are 10 reasons why I love sleeping close to my babes:

IMG_3810_50.jpg

  1. I never have to get out of bed for feedings - when my baby awakes hungry, she lets me know and I only have to roll over, offer her my breast and we both can ease-fully fall back sleep.

  2. She never has to get to the point of crying or hysteria to wake me, because I am next to her I wake up at the start of her stirrings and can immediately respond to her needs.

  3. We keep each other warm and cozy.

  4. She feels safe and included in the family bed, rather then alone and isolated. Sometimes she wakes up and just needs to know I'm close by to go right back to sleep.

  5. Biologically it feels right, it's how our ancestors did it.

  6. There is nothing better then waking up to little hands lovingly stroking me and a big milky smile greeting me!

  7. During the beginning integration of being in body, her heartbeat and breathing is all regulated by feeling and being close to mama (or other family providers).

  8. I get sleep!! As a new mama, being well rested is so important and I wake up every morning feeling fresh and ready for the day after a good night snooze.

  9. I wake up to the sounds of her having to go to the potty. Due to a quick and effective response, we can get to the potty in time for her to make her morning doo and that means no dirty diaper for mama to change!!

  10. Every night I get into bed with my sweet little one and am so grateful for the gift of cuddling up close to her, feeling her breath on me and knowing that she is settled and exactly where she is supposed to be.

What are your favorite reasons for sleeping with your baby?

fullsizeoutput_115b.jpeg

Sort:  

I agree 100% ,makes it a better experience for parents and child! Thank you for sharing love

Thank you for adjusting to the family bed! x

Our keiki is almost 4 and sleeps with mom on most nights.. Makes sense and is easier for Mom and baby, especially for little babes.

I will be honest, though. I sleep in my own bed and not with the family. It would be nice to sleep next to @charlenelee, some day..

I regularly put the keiki to bed, now days and I think it's about time for her to sleep on own.

We will talk about it and visualize it, together. I have a feeling she will be excited to sleep on her own, soon.. but it's a big step. I think it will be difficult for Mom, too..

I love the idea of visualizing and making shifts together! Your keiki is a lucky one that she gets to be involved every step of the way - how empowering to gift that to our children!

You bring up a good point too that as they get older, there comes a time when it may feel appropriate for them to express their independence and have their own bed.. seems like a natural evolution. And it shall be nice for mama and dada to have their space and privacy too i'm sure ;)! Each family has their own needs and I love how we are all consciously navigating and implementing what works (or does not) for us.

Mahalo for your comment @proofofdaniel !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65941.36
ETH 2622.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67