You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dark, Disturbing and Somewhat Horrible, the History and Origins of Nursery Rhymes #4: 🌸 Lucy Locket 🌸

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

Well there you go! I had no idea… I'll check out the rest of the series. As ever there is far more going on behind the innocent facade ;). The same went on with children's TV programs - when you watch some of them back now there are far more innuendos going on and you wonder how they got away with it!

Sort:  

When I was a kid, there was an afternoon children's show on the week-ends called Buster Brown. And there was a frog puppet who helped introduce the (obligatory) cartoon during the show. He did this by pulling down on a flexible pole that when released gave a boiiiinngg sound -- like a Jew's harp.

Buster Brown (another puppet) gave the invitation to pull the lever down, do the boiinngg sound and start the cartoon by saying, "Plunk your magic twanger, froggie!!" My father about died when he heard that one afternoon. I didn't know what the big deal was.

Nowadays, whenever @catweasel and I publish The Daily Whistle Stops ---> when everything is ready to go, our signal to publish is "Plunk your magic twanger, froggie." Some things never die. (Oh, Lord!)

See: Buster Brown

@adambarratt LOL you're right!! I hadn't thought about that for a while. In England "Noddy and Big Ears" and the "Magic Roundabout" immediately come to mind...

Is Neil still doing Magic Roundabout?

Also, why do elephants have big ears?

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59604.53
ETH 2413.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43