Being a mom is hard work..and sometimes rather gross.

in #parenthood7 years ago

1502563862223_IMG_20170629_151920.jpg

I always knew I wanted to be a mother, but let's face it, kids are gross.
I go into the "guest" bathroom or more like the "kids" bathroom just now. My oldest said there were flies in there. Ok, I'll investigate, first I cleaned the cat box (not the source of the flies, barely dirty). I notice the shower curtain is closed. We don't use that bathtub/shower, so I don't clean it, I open it.
One of these adorable, smart little monsters of mine, emptied a bowl of cereal into the bottom of the tub, dried milk & cereal, the spoon and the bowl are all in there.

I was trying to clean with no explosion, I had already found annoying things this morning prior to this. I found popsicle wrappers dripping their leftovers onto the living room carpet, near the trash, but not in it. Another trash overflowing and tipped over, does anyone not see that?!?!? No one under the age of 33 around here can actually get their pee all the way in to toilet, it's like a pee sprinkler. Also, the poop bandit is back, "oh, I wiped and got poop on my fingers, I know, I'll just wipe it on the wall right here".
I am doing laundry as all of this is occuring and find one of my "rice packs" that we use as an ice pack substitute freshly washed and freshly ruined.

Messy, stinky, lazy,naughty little spawn of mine.

I spend all day picking up stuff that isn't mine and cleaning messes I didn't make. If anyone else in the house touches it, I automatically also have to. I love these boys, they are my entire world, but big families equal big messes, and mama is tired.
So this cereal thing, a totally unavoidable mess didn't make me explode but....
Mama grounded them all, cause "somebody" did it, but "nobody" knows who.

Sort:  

My toddler is in the "fascination with faucets and water phase." Needles to say the dryer is running all day with every towel that's soaked up the water-play floods in the bathroom. Not looking forward to 💩 on the walls!! Keep rockin super mom!!

Mine are all past the toddler years those were an ummmm fun time. My youngest 2 (twins) will be 8 in November. My oldest is nearly 13, he is perhaps the messiest one.

Kids are messy. My mother ruled with an iron fist. At age 8 and my sister 7 we already did all the house chores (only cooking was spared). Before she left for work she would leave us a long list, split in half, our names on top. After school we came home and did it....there was no wondering "should we or should we not". Weekends were the worst cuz i spent at least 3h ironing. We never complained or rebuked...mother hit hard. :D I'm not saying she did it right or wrong...jut saying how it was. Seems you kids have it good....but also seems they have it good on your account. I hope they dont take you for granted. :)

I'm pretty laid back. Everyone parents differently. They help when asked but don't have chores. I don't think what works for one family always works for another. They are getting better at picking up after themselves, but they could definitely help out more.

I'm pretty laid back.

I think thats the magic ingredient not only to parenting but also to life in general. :)

Indeed, makes my life go smooother :)

as they get older boys are stinky too. I love my son but OMG he can be a stinky boy in all the sense.

Yes stinky for sure....too many sweaty boys in one room is ick for sure. They watch tv back in the room sometimes with the door closed....awful

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by krazykrista from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57500.86
ETH 2337.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36