My favorite thing about being a parent

We're running a changing weekly challenge over at @steemparents, and this week, we want to hear what everyone's favorite part of parenting is! Even though @cryptomomma and I aren't going to be eligible for any bonuses from the challenge, we will both participate every week to help spread the word.


So what's my favorite thing about parenting?

It's the look my son gets when he learns something new.

I love teaching my son new things, to the point that my ex-wife and I intend to homeschool our son Carlin. He turns four years old in just 5 days, and the rules about when children can start school changed this year. They will now allow any child born on or before August 1st to start school this year, and my son was born at 11:59 pm on August 1st!

0723171910.jpg


When children learn something new, it opens up a whole new world of possibilities, which leads to even more discoveries. The look of wonder in their eyes when they find out they can do something, is priceless to me. When they learn something new about the way the world works, then ask 25 more questions that all branch from the first, you just feel like you're doing something right.

No matter what or how much they learn, childrens' (especially very young ones) brains are like sponges. Little supercomputers that haven't used up much if their storage, and crave all the information they can process.


I've always taken a hands-on approach to educating my son. I started sitting him in front of ABC cartoon videos when he was just 2 or 3 months old, and intend to do the same thing with Baby Vincent. Carlin was able to recite the alphabet before the age of two, and has been reading small words for almost a year now.

I attribute a large part of that to a BBC show I found called 'Alphablocks'.

alphablocks_brand_logo_bid.png
Source

To this day, Carlin loves the Alphablocks, and sings along with almost all the songs. He learns tons of new words without ever realizing he's learning! One other show I give tons of kudos to is StoryBots.
StoryBots_Logo_Characters_ForWhiteBackgrounds.png
Source

These little guys have a ridiculously fun and clever way of teaching children about the world around them through song. If you've never heard about them, go look them up on Youtube. They're so good at what they do, they even got their own Netflix show!


I could ramble for days and days about the importance of taking an active role in one's child's education. I hope you enjoyed reading about my favorite aspect of parenting.

If you'd like to participate in this challenge, go check out the announcement post over on the @steemparents page!

We're still looking for donations to kick start this new effort, so if you'd like to help support awesome parents on steem, every donation or delegation counts, no matter how big or small.


DQmRXDcVJ8REzRKSxzL43n1tb1MrB9aSaFcHheJLJdU8vq5_1680x8400.png
Follow @thatsweeneyguy

Sort:  

Good timing. Thanks for resteeming.

Big fan of your family. Having no children of my own your story makes me excited to have one. The joy of learning about your child as they grow is a blessing. I went to a private college and most students were homeschooled. It was there that I learned about the homeschooled community. It's so large and impactful.

I think I still want my future children to go to public school, but homeschooling sounds more and more appealing:D

I simply feel like no one is going to care about my child's education as much as I do. Carlin's mother and I are both intelligent people who weren't challenged enough by public schools, so we want something different for our son.

You have to do what is best for your child. I don't have one yet, so can't say which will best. I was challenged more then enough in school. Without their help with my reading disorder and dyslexia I wouldn't be able to go as far as I have.

Like I said, there is a large community of home schoolers and I know your child will be surrounded by greatness either way

@kubbyelizabeth, my family and I first choose homeschooling because we lived overseas. Now that we are back in the US we continue to homeschool, because we love the flexibilty that it offers us in regards to time and the opportunity to customize learning to the needs of our kids.

My wife has fallen in love with being a homeschool mom! following

Homeschooling as more benefits then most realize. Especially when it comes to pace and customizing learning for the individual child. Thanks for stopping by. Ill check out your page too.

No one is as invested in your child's life as you - the parent. We are definitely on the same page buddy. I am hands-on and full-throttle with my kids. They know so much at such a young age that I feel like I was pretty slow in every sort of comparison. My kids already surpass any milestone of my own at their age. Much of it thanks to values inset in my by my parents growing up. Learning is vital to growth and development, for both adults and children. Their first years are the most crucial moments of their development!

It is awesome to see people really taking pride in raising their kids - it will be even better to see the results unfold in the future.

To the #steemmoms & #steemdads out there investing the time in their little ones - ROCK ON!! 😎🤘🏻 it ain't easy!

Submitted my entry!

@grow-pro, so true. It ain't easy, but so worth it! Keep up the good work #steemdads. following

Yes it is @sumatranate, it is a worthwhile pursuit for sure. Thanks! Following you as well. Wow, 5 - I feel like two is a struggle at times 😋 I tip my hat to you, sir!

That's Awesome! And yeah, I'm going to have a hard time keeping up with this little guy 😃

Great post! Love hearing ideas from other parents about their kids. We have 2 under 6 and it's a blast, hard at times but a blast! One of us is always with them no matter what. Good schools are hard to come by as the dumbing down and false history teachings of our society continues. More free thinkers and doers is what we need in our future. Enjoyed your post.

Thanks! Join the #parentschallenge and tell us your favorite thing!

@thatsweeneyguy, as parents we should strive to be the best educators our children have ever know. Do we know everything? Not even close.

But as parents we have a great responsibility to teach them well, and the payoff is watching the joy on their faces as they learn something new (everyday).

I completely agree. My desire to homeschool stems from this country's system of only teaching kids to pass tests. The public school system in America is a joke.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86