The Disembodied Voice

in #paranormal7 years ago

Hello again, fellow Steemers. The setting for the next story is a New England apartment building we (my parents and I) used to live in back in the late 70s. The building still stands today and the neighborhood hasn't changed much over the years, which is kind of nice as it holds a lot of dear memories. I no longer reside in the New England area so my wife and I took a trip there last year during Autumn because I wanted to show her where I grew up and also because she would enjoy the scenery. When we drove up to the building where I spent my early years, memories just came flooding back. We made our way inside the building and while walking from floor to floor, I tried to make a mental connection with those entities that as a child, had spoken to me, showed themselves to me, scared me. I guess after not visiting my home state for a couple of decades, it was to be expected that the only thing I felt was melancholy. No problem, I just enjoyed the moment and left it for another time. With that little background tidbit, we'll begin...

It was great to be home! I had fun that day at school (first grade) and had a good walk home while chatting with friends but I just couldn't wait to play with my Star Wars action figures and turn up the rock music on an old hifi stereo system my parents used to have. This was sometime in 1978 after all! On this one particular afternoon, something would occur that would sporadically repeat for the next year or so. In the whole scheme of things, it seems minuscule and insignificant but paranormal nonetheless.

I entered the apartment, shut the door behind me, locked it, and made my way into the hallway to the bedroom. I always had this weird thing about locking doors behind me but I digress. At this point, as clear as a bell, I heard a disembodied voice say my name. Startled at the thought of someone else being in the apartment, I quickly scanned the surroundings for the source of the voice. It was right there but a bit around me if that makes any sense. At no point was I scared or frightened. I felt, even back then, that whoever called me meant no harm but did it as a way of recognition or getting my attention in a "Hey I'm here and I know your name" type of way.

Upon seeing no one, I continued on with my day. A couple of days later, evenings actually, my name was called yet again as I was walking into my room and this time my mother happened to be right behind me and heard it as well. I turned and asked, "Did you hear that?" To which she responded, "Your name. Someone just said your name." I explained, "It's not the first time. Been happening a lot but when I look around, there's no one. It's always close, always right here and somewhere close." Believing that I was frightened or maybe trying to calm herself at what she had heard, my mother stated that it was only my Guardian Angel. Anytime she would hear my name being called after that, that's how she would explain it and I would just nod my head in agreement even though I felt that it may have been someone else. It continued on well into the next year...

As a kid, I used to really like the show "That's Incredible!" with Fran Tarkenton, Cathy Lee Crosby, and John Davidson. For those of you who are like, "Huh? Never heard of it," just Google it and find out. It was a variety type of show and I was super excited one night because they were showing a segment on the Amityville house and what had happened to the DeFeo's and ultimately, the Lutz family. This episode was aired in 1980 and interest in the events that had happened in the small Long Island community was still in full swing, especially since the film had just been released the previous year. Many of you that have seen or read, "The Amityville Horror" know what I'm talking about (not the 2005 version). I ran into my room, turned on the television and began watching the preview. It was spooky to say the least! I made myself comfortable on the floor and at that moment, heard what sounded like someone calling me. Believing it was one of my parents, I got up really quick and walked into the living room. Looking at both of them, I asked, "did you call me?" They both looked at each other and answered, "No, we didn't but why? What did you hear?" I stammered, "Someone called my name...I think" as I shrugged my shoulders and went back to the show. I sat back down and remember this one part where this girl was showing the infamous red room and just then, my name was uttered again but it sounded closer this time. Yeah, that scared me a bit but I stuck to watching the show. I guess by that point, I had gotten so used to it that it didn't faze me all that much anymore.

The disembodied voice came and ultimately went however, my paranormal experiences in that building continued. It's not as if one thing would start as something else would end, things would just happen whenever they happened with no rhyme or reason that I knew of at the time... almost like timelines that would bleed into one another.

Join me next time for another true story and until then, take care.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dinomyte! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78