End of Shift Report; Paramedicine

in #paramedic7 years ago

1.jpg
I will do my best to keep all HIPPA laws in check. Which basically means I cannot give any info that would identify anyone in any way possible. I also cannot talk about high profile cases. I think I have done a good job of not violating these rules but please notify me if I have somehow.
hipaa-logo-certificate.png

All photos are taken from the internet randomly.

Case study purpose only

Male in his early 50s is altered; meaning they are very confused and cannot answer the following questions:

  1. Person; what is your name?
  2. Place; where are you right now?
  3. Time; what year is it?
  4. Event; why am I here right now?

This particular pt is AOx0; alert and oriented x 0 meaning he cannot answer any of those questions.

Wife states she witnessed a seizure while in bed; full body movement; lasting 5 minutes.
Generalized+Tonic-Clonic+Seizure.jpg

Wife states he normally recovers very fast within 5-10min but she waited 30 minutes and he is still confused.

Pt is carried by the FIRE department due to inability to walk.
Chair-Carry.png

Pt is very postictal; phase of confusion following a seizure.
seizure-project-13-728.jpg

Blood sugar is 110; afebrile (no fever); pupils are pinpoint.
tumblr_mhoypckVch1rq1coyo1_400.jpg

I ask about drug/alcohol use; "denies." Painkillers; "Sometimes."

High flow O2 via Non Rebreather mask should shorten recovery phase; he removes it saying he cannot breathe.
thMECOO9H2.jpg

Then tries to undue seatbelts and run out the back door while the ambulance is moving.

Pulled over; restrained with soft 4 point restraints for the patients safety. If he recovers to normal I will remove them immediately. Oxygen is continued once again and an IV is started.
31da4ed99c260c237567aa375b665713.jpg

18 guage in the left AC attached to a saline lock.
4183266832_2e040a3761_b.jpg

Pt recovers to AOx2 unable to tell me the time and event; then gets the time correct by hospital arrival.

Pt had no sign of trauma; no oral trauma and no incontinence.

Denies headache, nausea, CP and SOB

I was thinking of giving Narcan just to see if there was an issue with opiates because the pupils were pinpoint.
061814-heroin-graphic.jpg
But it really wasn't an underlying problem in my opinion. Id really be doing it to see if he reacted or not; because if he didn't then id be more concerned about a brain bleed.
arteriovenous-malformation-avm-of-brain-9-638.jpg

Hx of Hypertension Seizures Diabetes

All images are taken from bing.com under keywords mentioned above

If I am doing anything that violates hippa or if you have any concerns - please voice them because I would be happy to hear or take down this post. I thought it would be kind of cool to have a medical discussion; people can learn or even I could learn by someone else sharing knowledge. This is only 1 out of 5 calls I had but this one was the best medical.

DQmSgvWb7SsQm8TMfvUiyEsbfd7sH3M5YZZa7QRsqV2Q5vk.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64156.67
ETH 3169.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53