You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How important is "Ground handling" in paragliding?

in #paragliding7 years ago (edited)

I took off in high wind and was not able to penetrate and was not able to get to my speedbar easily so I landed. When trying to bring the wing down I reached for the brakes underestimating the potential for a drag. I also had left my gloves in the car and was not able to pull lines in. I got yanked off my feet, pulled sideways and hit my head going backwards.

I came around about 40 minutes later being strapped onto a back board and loaded into a helicopter. My full face helmet plastic buckle had broken at some point, the helmet came off and my face was dragged a few hundred feet over rocks, mud and grass.

I only broke two bones - my nose and the interior bone under my left eye which is no permanently dilated due to the impact. I was a bloody mess but lived to tell the tale.

Sort:  

Wow! That is rough! Glad you are ok. That could have been the end. Thanks for sharing that. Do you still fly?

Yes, I got back to flying a couple of months after the accident. My neck got very beaten up from the accident - major whiplash I guess - and to this day I have issues looking around. But it is good to be alive and flying even if I still have some major angst when the wind is strong. But I force myself to kite and be very aggressive in killing the wing with Cs, like my life depended on it - which I now know it does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53