You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Skyman single-surface paraglider in action

in #paragliding6 years ago

I followed a Russian chap (I believe, on YouTube) a few years ago, he made a single-skinned paraglider using a kite program. It seemed to fly ok as far as I can remember. I'll just try and dig out a link, hang on a sec.........

........ well that proved futile lol.

If I find it later, I'll try and remember to link it.

Sort:  

I first heard about commercial single-surface gliders a few years ago, but I'm sure people have tried to make them before then. Probably having someone willing to test was the main issue holding them back. Plus they are less efficient due to all the lower surface drag. It's really for those who absolutely need an ultralight ultra compact glider - like mountaineers or people doing viv-bol.

Glider development still seems to be maintaining pace. Though I'm not really 'in the scene' any more since my 'retirement'. Perhaps one day I'll take to the air again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77