Paragliding Mecca (Rhossili, South Wales - 2014)

in #paragliding7 years ago

Hello again folks,

Here are some pics and a bit of video from a trip Sam & I did back in 2014 to Rhossili. Sam had retired from paragliding altogether at this point and I was on a hiatus from the sport. As a result, neither of us had a paraglider to play with while on this 3 day break. Our good buddy Brian (Turbo) Tunnard of the Cloud Hoppers Club, kindly lent us his spare ground-handling glider, an ageing bright yellow Sky Yang. It was old and slow but in surprisingly good condition as it had hardly ever been flown.

We never committed to flying the main soaring hill as this glider hadn't been serviced in a long time but we did have a little bit of fun on the ridge along the beach. Here you can see a short film of first me and then Sam performing a 'dune' launch. If the wind had been 2-3mph stronger we might have managed a lengthy flight along the beach but the weather Gods didn't favour us this day.



The scenery and flying site here at Rhossili draws in many pilots from across the UK. Rhossili has also been voted as one of the Top 10 best beaches in the world.

Sam and I usual camp at Rhossili (Hill End camp site, Llangennith) every year for 2-3 days at a time. Besides the flying, we love the deceptively long & clean beach, stunning cliffs and the Worm's head (natural geological feature).

Below are some images (a few taken on full zoom so please excuse the graininess) of Sam & I, the scenery and a couple of hardened pilots making the most of the buoyant air.

Here's me :)
SAM_2091.JPG
SAM_2096.JPG
SAM_2099.JPG
SAM_2169.JPG

and here's Sam.
SAM_2104.JPG
SAM_2133.JPG
SAM_2159.JPG

and finally a couple of proper pilots and the Worm's Head :)
IMG_1056.JPG
IMG_1073.JPG
IMG_1037.JPG
IMG_1111.JPG
IMG_1119.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this little collection from back in 2014. Sam and I always have fond memories of the place.

If you did enjoy, please upvote and resteem.
Thank you.

Robert.

Sort:  

Post that passion! Fly safely!

Will do, I always err on the side of caution :)

I like that last picture! Looks super nice!

Cheers :) It takes us about 90 minutes to walk length of beach from the camp site, up the cliff path and along spur to the causeway out to the Worm's Head. Sam and I will have a picnic and stop for a few hours before heading back for a meaty BBQ & beer ;)

Thank you, we've not been this year yet. We'll have to remedy that :)

I have a dream to do paragliding one day, seeing your pics, increased my desire to do that.

Glad you've found them inspiring. Maybe 'dip-your-toes' by having a tandem lesson first with a qualified instructor?

I will surely do that once I got the courage to do so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74