Paragliding at Blossom with strong wind | Launch from bailout | Ended up in the bushes for a minute | Kids threw rocks at me in the air

This was another one of the learning days for me. Ivan was yelling down, "Launch from the top" But I didn't want to. I like the challenge of launching from the bailout.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.21.49 AM.png

The weather conditions were predicted to be a bit light.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.18.57 AM.png

I told the boys that we were going to blossom, and mom needed some quite time.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.19.19 AM.png

So we hiked up and took a look.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.19.57 AM.png

To my surprise the wind was blowing at 10-15mph.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.20.20 AM.png

Here I was assisting Ivan with his launch. It was going to be a little tricky today.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.20.40 AM.png

Ivan was yelling for me to launch from the main launch because there were a few un-organized thermals that were coming up the hill at the bailout.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.22.55 AM.png

I had a little struggle on launch but I was able to manage.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.23.17 AM.png

My boys hiked up to the main launch and I flew from the bailout up to them.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.23.41 AM.png

The winds were strong but organized for the most part.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.24.31 AM.png

I really enjoy flying the ridge. As long as there is little air traffic.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.25.10 AM.png

Did a couple touch and goes.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.26.06 AM.png

The wind was strong at the top because of the compression.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.26.24 AM.png

That means bringing your wing down needs to be aggressive.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.26.34 AM.png

For me it was another epic day of flying. Even tho I didn't go across the valley.

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 7.28.51 AM.png

See video below.


Don't forget to follow if you like what you see.

Sort:  

haha kids throwing rocks. THat just adds to the adventure

I know right! lol

Hiya Capt, I watched your latest antics early this morning while enjoying breakfast as the rest of the family slept :)

I thought you'd have got more height with the strong wind when you was hovering above launch,..... I'm guessing Blossom is heavily thermal reliant for BIG AIR?

[blimey, I'm sounding 'rusty' now lol]

Yes, blossom requires a good laps rate to get some big air. But, I am also playing it pretty safe working out my fears and frustrations. I could have try some XC on that day, but I had the boys with me. Didn't want to land in the valley with the kids playing on launch. That is a 2 hour hike.

Cheers cap't.
Yup, you made a good choice, I wouldn't fancy leaving the kids out of sight for a couple of hours.
There's always next time :)

My boys are 13 and 10 so I am sure they would hold their own for a couple hours up there, but I just didn't want to chance having to hike because I am out of shape. LOL

Fair dos LOL ;)

Flying parachute and durant passenger.
All very beautiful photography.
hope you success.

I am not sure what you just said, but thanks for stopping by.

Brilliant photographs. You must've had so much fun.
Those rock throwing rats.... Hope you landed on one of them....
Upvoted

Thanks for stopping by my friend! I tried to sneak up on them!

Photography is an art of observation.It has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.Photography is not about the cameras,gadgets and gismos. Photography is about photographers.Photography is the power of observation and not the application of technology.Photography is the only language that can be understood anywhere in the world...
Stay blessed thanks for sharing the post:):):)

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

your photography really excellent.....i like yoir every photography..................tnx

That looks like so much fun. I have wanted to try paragliding, but haven't had the chance yet.

Its pretty epic!

Really cool shots! I made a post about Dtube recently, i would be happy if you checked it out!

hello dear @captainobviou3 , how are you? good morning from here 😊

i am used to seeing you paragliding but still having my jaw dropped on how you manage to do that really , so amazing and you got lots of courage in you hehe.

And now your boys too

But what caught my attention is how you hive quiet time to your wife and that is so sweet
and that's really a great bonding time for you and the boys

Great job dear , and by the way i wanna thank you fpr always appreciating my blog ❤️❤️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49