CRASH LANDING! Paragliding after work. Could have been avoided.

Before you lick your lips looking for blood and guts, know that this crash landing could have been much worse.
Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 7.06.19 AM.png

This flight was #53. There the conditions were fantastic, compared to the couple weeks. The flight lasted 11 minutes, there was some great lift right out front of the launch.

The difference was that there were these little burst of wind here and there. When the winds are 15mph, my glider parks in the air. So when I was coming in for the landing, I ended up hitting some of that air, and I think it was also some rotor coming off the back of that big tree in the landing zone.

Lesson learned.

Again thanks for watching!

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 7.25.39 AM.png

Sort:  

Wow, that was a hard landing - glad to hear you walked way from it ok :-)

Holy cow! @totallysacha is a youtube star!!!!!! Commenting on my post!!!!!
So glad you are here! Looking forward to all your food posts!

Haha not sure I would describe myself as a star, more an average Joe!!! Started posting here last week and very much enjoying it so far :-)

I saw a couple of your videos on youtube! Great quality and very informative. You will do wonderful on here!
Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 7.25.39 AM.png

I'm glad you were ok. You called it at the beginning about the strange weather. The little guy was impressively calm.

He is a great kid.

He's a cutie.

Thankfully most the time when you crash a paraglider the worst you get is a grass stain or in the case of your LZ a scrub brush scratch.

I've crashed more than once :o)

Looks like an updraft at the last moment.

Glad you're okay.

Nice! I am glad I am not alone in crashing. I think you are right about the updraft at the last minute.

Stoked to meet you in the flesh yesterday! Watched the whole thing, glad you are okay! ~ LEE <3

It was great to meet you too! Thanks for watching! @bunnylove. Btw there is a secret bunny in the video at the end. See if you can find it. 🐰

Glad you're OK, bubba. Keep working the kiting skills, wing management when it's gusty & thermic is critical. Good to see you on the ground safe!

Hilarious use of the gunner in your video by the way. Dang, them video skillzzz are increasing fast! Can't wait to see the young squire getting us via Steemit drone. :)

Thanks brother! Thanks for sharing steemit with me!

You know it, girl! ;) You're crushing it on here, so rad to see.

That looked a bit harsh, glad you're OK bud.

I stayed on my feet. It looks worse on the video.👍🏼

BTW I walked away without a scratch.

Congratulations @captainobviou3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67701.44
ETH 3730.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69