Annecy in septembersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #paragliding7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1043.JPGIMG_1039.JPGIMG_1040.JPGAside from a few very short flights at my local hills, I haven't flown a paraglider in 8 weeks!
Whilst that doesn't sound like very long, to a fairly inexperienced pilot, confidence can take a knocking.. along with muscle memory.
This quickly cobbled trip to Annecy turned out to be the most awesome confidence restoring trip so far.
With its own micro climate Annecy is an air sports wonderland in the foothills of the mighty Alps. September is a milder time of year for thermic activity so it wasn't as challenging as it would be in early summer when the suns heat on the valley would cause ripping fast moving thermals more suited to experienced pilots.

. At takeoff I witnessed a nervous young lady have to abort her takeoff as she lost control of her wing. No harm came to the young woman, but this ratcheted up my nerves somewhat! I am so grateful I learned to paraglide. I intend to explore the worlds most beautiful places from my wing and I hope you will join me as my flying improves and I seek out beauty from above :-)

Sort:  

I wish I could say " I haven't flown a paraglider in 8 weeks" just like that...
you're soooo lucky :D


I would appreciate it if you check my posts as well @unnun

I cant recommend it enough... £1000 gets you trained ... £2000 gets your equipment ( with careful shopping)... life is no rehearsal go for it!

even if I save several years I still can't afford it :D

Yes!!! Another pilot! I found you because of the hashtag #paragliding. So far there are a couple of us on here. I am looking forward to seeing your posts! For the most part, I only post on paragliding. I am from Southern California. All my flying is done here in the mountains, but I really want to fly Annecy! Have a great day my friend!

Thankyou for your reply, we are in deep winter now in uk...typically as I'm sure you know... I miss flying opportunities during the week and hope for good weekend weather... I wish I was a teacher... they seem to be always flying :-)

Nice video... great scenery too! Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations @alandean! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

A late March revisit to Annecy is on the cards..... so with a little luck I will be posting more flights from there fairly soon... can't wait, it is stunning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38