You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Parable of the Mustard Seed

in #parable7 years ago

The bible was written by man. I am aware of the popular consensus that it was inspired by God. There is no tangible proof of this. I understand that as humans we tend to think we need to believe in something higher than ourselves. The bible has lessons that can be applied to anything today, from eating to worship and how we are to conduct ourselves. However, how can we be sure this is where our faith should be. It was written by man. So it is subject to interpretation. Can we really live our life accordingly with what's found in the bible and take this as God's word or are we just following man in this respect? Take religion for example, in the bible it states false religion is a part of Babylon. However, this is not examined as we are still herded into one religion to another religion, believing that whatever religion that we are affiliated with is the TRUE religion. Is the bible stating that religion in and of itself is wrong as it is a part of Babylon? These are some questions I've had about the bible since I was a little girl.

Sort:  

Hi brandi, I've had the same questions since I was small too.

I am not an authority on the subject, as much as I would like to give you my opinion on it. I am a member of the Eastern Orthodox Church. The Orthodox were the ones who compiled and decided which books would comprise the New Testament. If you have questions about historical accuracy of the Bible, I highly recommend contacting your local Orthodox parish and asking the priest your questions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.02
ETH 3517.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09