Fleeting freedom is bittersweet.

in #pandemic3 years ago

image.png

A bit over a year ago, I went to Costco. We were all lined up outside, at least six feet apart, only a certain number of patrons were allowed inside at a time, there were signs at the entrance indicating shortages of things, particularly toilet paper; masks were required to enter the store, employees were outside handing out sanitizing wipes for our carts, there were arrows on the floor inside directing us through the aisles, and the checkout lines extended throughout the store as only one customer at a time was allowed at the checkout registers. I only went back there once again under such stringent rules (to get my dogs meds and pick up a few necessities) and both times I was accosted and yelled at because I had my bank-robber bandana around my neck and not over my nose.

Went there today for the first time in over a year, got to meander around the store for an hour without restriction. Perhaps one-fourth of the patrons were still wearing masks and a few employees were still wearing them, but no one was hassling anyone else and people were speaking to each other and smiling at each other again. I spent more than I probably would have without the freedom to wander up and down all of the massive aisles, but nothing will go to waste. I stocked up a bit.

I know this is just a blink of fleeting freedom. I am aware of what is happening globally and behind the scenes. I know that this is just a small lull before a much bigger storm. I also understand a bit about human nature and mind control and that those in power have no intention to allow us to be really free, and will trickle it out to us from time to time to keep us happy and complacent. (Yup, just call me a conspiracy theorist)

That said, because I am just a human being, I really enjoyed shopping at Costco today, and as a general rule, I hate to shop. Loosen our shackles just a bit and we rejoice in our sense of freedom. Amazing how that works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56416.38
ETH 2379.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35