Alcoholism induced by lockdown despair.

in #pandemic2 years ago

image.png

I haven't talked much about this aspect of my experience during 2020 and the lockdowns.

Obviously, I learned that I am an alcoholic and not just a heavy drinker. I also learned that I'm not as comfortable with being alone as I thought.

The person that I was seeing and I decided to call it quits before the lockdowns. Pretty much the only human contact I had the whole year was with family. Work was hard to find. People didn't want to go out on dates. You couldn't go to bars or restaurants or movies and even if you could, people were afraid to go out. Skype only goes so far.

It's horrible to say this, but, to be honest, my days in the hospital were the best of that year for me because I could finally talk to people I'm not related to.

If I almost drank myself to death out of loneliness I've gotta imagine it was harder for extroverts in a similar situation.

It doesn't surprise me at all that deaths from alcohol and drug use for people my age range skyrocketed. That's also why I'm finding it so hard to forgive the people who slavishly supported the lockdowns.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97