You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Experiencing a 5.3 Earthquake 37 Floors Up in a Panama City Apartment

in #panama6 years ago

Looked like great accommodations even at $160 a night so $80 was a steal. I have only experienced one earth quake so far. It was on a Sunday morning about 11:00 and I had a major hangover and was visiting my mother at her house. We were sitting on the screened in porch and I had a glass of ice water on the table next to the chase lounge chair I was half sitting and half laying in. As I reached for the water to get a sip the glass started shaking on the table, being hungover I thought I was seeing things. It only lasted for a few seconds but I didn't even try and pick the glass up until it stopped moving because I thought it was my eyes playing tricks on me and I didn't want to drop the glass.
A few seconds later she said , "did you feel that? I think we just had a little earth quake." At that point I was somewhat relieved knowing that I wasn't as bad off as I thought I might have been after waiting for the glass to quit moving.
She laughed like hell when I told her how the glass was moving when I reached for it. If she hadn't said anything about it being an earth quake I might have still thought that I was that screwed up that morning. The radio did report it about 30 minutes later so I know it was a real earth quake.
Being 37 floors up would have scared me to death if I had been there with ya'll. Glad everything worked out okay.

Sort:  

Lol - that is a pretty funny earthquake story! I bet your mind was playing tricks on you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67282.50
ETH 2627.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68