Bahai temple in Panama City... do you notice some star wars influence there?

in #panama6 years ago

Have you ever wondered what's that egg shaped building on the top of the hill just outside Panama City?
Screen Shot 2018-03-09 at 16.02.23.png

So I first noticed it when I was going to San Blas Islands and thought it has to be some sort of temple but as far as I knew Panama is very much a Christian country and what kind of temple could it be.
Well, I was surprised to discover it's a Bahai temple.

I first came across a Bahai Temple in New Delhi. There it's one of the top tourism objects since the shape and size of the building is really impressive even though you have to swish through the polluted air and thousands of people taking selfies (including me).

In Delhi they had daily readings from most of religious texts, so let's say they'd read Bible at 11am and then Koran at 1pm and so on. They believe in God as one universal force and Jesus, Buddha etc as the messengers. If you want to read more click here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bah%C3%A1%27%C3%AD_Faith

I'm not too much into the religious side as the idea it self is wonderful but for me it's like you are guys saying all religions are great and then creating a new one :)

Screen Shot 2018-03-09 at 16.06.06.png
But as for the meditation it's a beautiful place. The temple is super airy and beautifully designed standing on the hill and overlooking the city. There's no talking in the temple so silence is guaranteed and once you sit down it's really easy to just be. Energy flows freely there.

As a tourism object I suppose it's underrated here in Panama, it's just a short trip away but has such beautiful setting. Not to mention that you can see the city skyline and ocean on one side and hills and all the green forests on the other.
Screen Shot 2018-03-09 at 16.02.16.png

Screen Shot 2018-03-09 at 16.01.49.pngScreen Shot 2018-03-09 at 16.02.16.png

And last but not the least, it does look a bit like a helmet from Star Wars, doesn't it?!

Screen Shot 2018-03-09 at 16.02.10.png

/ Photo credit Sebastian Suarez /

Sort:  

That's exactly what I though when I saw it - Stormtrooper helmet :)
Welcome to Steemit fellow yogi!
Although I must admit I have slowed down my practice lately. Will get back into it sooner or later :)

Gracias! Yes, you should get back on that mat!!!

Very beautiful site. I want to go there!

Are you located in Panama?

Yes, but I have not been there yet XD

you should go, nice trip for 2h :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59388.60
ETH 2528.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50