Panama Critters.

in #panama8 years ago (edited)

Wife Screams, Cats Going Nuts I Know It is Panama Critter Time.

On a monthly basis my wife breaks out into ear piercing screams as a neighbor decides to enter our home. Not a human neighbor but the type that crawls on all fours, eight or maybe in the future slithers. Yesterday I caught this harmless skink getting chased through our house by the cats. Last month it was this baby iguana!

Now to most people this may seem scary as hell. Not for me, I happen to be an animal lover. I am able to save 90% of them before Patricio ElPavo Hilarski or Susie LaAssasina Hilarski makes quick work of them.

The Problem is Not Patricio so Much Since He is a Lover and Not a Fighter but This One is Pure Kill Everything That Moves!

Once in our old house Anabell and I were shutting down for the night and I came across one of these. It sent shivers down my spine! What the hell is that abomination? We both freaked out as I swept it out of the house. Apparently it is a Tailless Whip Scorpion. They are harmless but how is a Yankee like me supposed to know that? I am not taking my chance.

Currently we live in a gated community about 30 minutes from Panama City, Panama. The neighborhood has a river and jungle on one side. Our home is only 30 meters from the jungle so you can imagine we have interesting critters living nearby. We regularly have Sloths using our power lines as highways!

When living in a tropical paradise you have to expect that sooner or later you are going to have a visitor. The hardest part is dealing with the shrieking wife. The cats are manageable. If you are thinking about moving to Panama make sure to connect with me. I am happy to assist folks who are looking to make the move.

Randy Hilarski

Don't Forget to Follow Me Here on Steemit.

Sort:  

That scorpion is something else, isn't it? I would not have called that as a scorpion. At first I was thinking some kind of lobster, lol.

I screeched when I saw it! Its legs are spread out and the whole thing is about the size of a piece of bread.

He is gnarly, like a space creature or something.

Like straight out of Aliens.

my wife does the same when there are cockroaches and earthworms around...

Earthworms? Jajajajaja!

Here in Orlando we have little chameleons and lizards the way Colorado had flies. The cats are constantly bringing them in, half-chewed. Last night I dreamed that one of them was eating itself because its body would grow back (which of course, it won't, as our cats have proved). Anyway, I feel your pain. Or... your wife's pain.

I lived in Tampa for 3 years. The bobbing heads of the lizards always cracked me up!

How can that scorpion look so evil and be harmless? It doesn't make any sense :D

It is a different type that has no stinger.

Haha, yeah, whip scorpions are freaky. But they're good to have around the house too, because they devour pests. I would have probably let out screech if I saw one too.

We had scorpions in Nicaragua that really hurt when they sting you. I didn't mind the geckos. I miss that sound they make. We had iguanas in the yard, but I never saw one in the house.

That must be so cool to see sloths in your own neighborhood. It sounds like you live in a great place.

We love the geckos also. They are the cats entertainment. I have never been stung by a scorpion and hopefully never will be. My buddy got nailed in the jewels and had to go to the hospital when he lived on Routan Island, Honduras.

Ooh, I don't even want to think about what happened to your friend. My husband got stung on the hand once while taking his baseball cap off after running. He's lucky he didn't get stung on the head, since that scorpion had probably been in his hat the whole time he was running.

Women don't like little creatures. We had a exterminator tell us in Singapore that we had a large hive of giant hissing cockroaches once. Good thing you have cats to roam around the house.

Oh my goodness, I would not like that! Cockroaches are the one thing that creep me out.

As long as they aren't poisonous I'm ok.

Because I'm from Australia, people always ask me about the dangerous animals... but really, I don't remember ever thinking much about it while I lived there. One of my students in Ecuador told me the other day, that there's a vacant lot next to his house, with hundreds of scorpions just chilling, and sometimes they just waltz right into his kitchen. Now that's creepy

Oh hell no!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66